2017
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(44 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DR
David R.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/16/2020
Great car
Dependable. Very little maintenance needs. Good gas mileage considering the size of the car. Highway driving is excellent.
200 character count is too high and should be reduced. 200 character count is too high and should be reduced.

Pros
Comfortable
Dependable
Worry Free
For the size of the vehicle it has acceptable MPG

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SA
STEVE A.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/11/2019
The finest ever owned
I have owned several Highlanders over the years and loved them all. This is the best one I have purchased. Love the style size of the interior. This is the one I will keep for ever or until I drop off the earth. Have used the same dealer over the years and love the attention every time I go there.

Pros
Fast, Well built, great style, Handles very well, Ride is very smooth. Dash and controls off the chart. First navi I have ever fallen in love with. Love driving at night just looking at the interment is like flying a plane. Super room in the back seat, surprising the size of the interior. Great car

Cons
Seats not as soft as there could be. Views out the side windows could better, Both side mirrors block the view on turns

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
ROBERT A.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/07/2019
Very practical and reliable
Drives great, has plenty of room, and Toyota reliability and resale. This is my 2nd Highlander and I still enjoy driving my 09 Highlander w/ 180k.

There are a lot so don’t expect to stand out, but it’s like owning a comfortable, go to pair of jeans.

Pros
Functional, Reliable, roomy, and easy to drive.

Cons
Apple CarPlay is not offered.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GK
GAYLE K.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/07/2019
Great all around vehicle
Great vehicle , everything good except exterior roof strip always comes apart during a car wash. Had same item with my 2011 highlander. Great to pack things for travel, always enough space. Comfortable

Cons
Exterior roof strip always comes apart in a car wash

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EE
EDWARD E.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/25/2019
Toyota Hylander Limited
Love it, always liked Toyota’s. Had a few since 1975 I believe that was the first year for the Corolla. Have no issues with any of them and they each had a long life. Driven many miles. Iam sure this Hylander will last well into our retirement.

Pros
Overall love everything about

Cons
Blind spots a a bit challenging

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
Bob C.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/15/2019
2017 Toyota Highlander
We have our Highlander 2 years and have accumulated 26,500 miles of great, dependable driving. The car has been used in all kinds of weather and has performed exceptionally well. It is a comfortable, quiet vehicle and we would recommend it to anyone.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TA
TERRY A.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/08/2019
Superior
Awesome in every aspect.i had a Honda Pilot. This Highlander is a definite upgrade. The interior is higher quality- the car drives better- easy to handle and a solid feel. I also appreciate that Toyota threw in the care package that covered oil changes for first 25,000 miles.

Pros
Built well-

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NK
NANCY K.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/22/2019
Love our 2nd Highlander.
We recently purchased our 2nd Highlander after our previous 16 year old Highlander was totaled in an accident. We loved our previous Highlander and love our brand one one. Would recommend to anyone who wants a comfortable car with a little space to stretch out.

Pros
Everything is great.

Cons
Rain runs off of roof into car when door opened during heavy rain.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SJ
SANDRA J.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/07/2019
Easy driving car!
I am very very pleased with this car. I have been on two long car trips in it and a joy to drive and the most comfortable car I have owned. Plenty of poop and average of 25.8 miles per gallon all the time....size is wonderful and back seat leg room is huge!

Pros
Roomy with very good visibility. Dream to drive on highway. Peppy for freeway acceleration smooth all around driving.

Cons
Heat venting for your legs and feet is too faint for me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
ROBERT R.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/30/2019
Amazing crossover
Best and smart purchase ever, very roomy. Captain seating is the only way to go in this vehicle. Never disappointed when I work with this dealership and they always have the options, vehicle, color and etc I’m looking for. thank you Vancouver Toyota for 10 yrs if excellent customer service and professionalism.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
DONALD L.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/20/2019
Best midsize SUV ever!
I bought this Highlander just under 2 years ago, it just turned 40,000 miles. I have had no troubles or issues at all. It drives/handles great, gets great gas mileage (hybrid), I plan on keeping it for a long long time.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
AMANDA B.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/04/2018
The best
My highlander is extremely reliable and can adjust to our families changing needs. The AWD is Great in the snow, the 3rd row is fabulous for a big crew and the trunk space when the third row isn’t in use is huge.

Pros
Convenience. Safety

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
GARY W.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/26/2018
Dissapointed
In the transmission started to make a whining sound intermittently and became consistent and loud around 8000 miles the transmission was replaced. Even though a technician had diagnosed the problem, it took Toyota 3 hours to authorize the repair and give me a rental car! An unexplained stall had to be towed but Toyota could not find anything wrong. Engine ran but car would not move. Called Toyota and it took 2 hours and 15 minutes for the tow truck to arrive! And an oil leak after the transmission was replaced. I do not tolerate cars that leak oil. I am 76 years old and have purchased countless new cars and the only other trans million failure was an 1985 Chevrolet. Have not bought one since.

Pros
My wife likes the heated seats. Blind spot monitoring.Gas Mileage is ok.

Cons
Reliability sucks. Toyota factory response leaves a lot to be improved. Cheap hood open rod holder, engine stop/ start at stops

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
GARY W.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/12/2018
I would not buy it again
Purchased new in October 2017. At 2327 miles car would not move when attempting to accelerate from a stop at a signal light. I stopped the engine, restarted the car and it still would not move. Called Toyota care to have it towed. Was told that would only authorize towing 12 miles and the tow truck would be there in 2 hours. I made a second call and was told the tow truck was on its way. It showed up well past 2 hours! Fortunately there was a dealer close enough. Dealer could not find anything wrong. Toyota suggested I take it to the dealer where purchased which I did with the same result.
On June 13,2018 I had the second service requested by the dealer. The service was fine. When I looked at my service notes I noticed the rear brake pads were measured 9 millimeters and the front pads were measured at 11 mm. Never owned a car where the rear brake pads wear more then the front. Called the service advisor and he asked if I had been towing any thing or hauling heave loads. I had done neither. Now at 8068 miles the transmission has been replaced after several months of intermittent "whining" which finally became loud and consistent .

Pros
great heated seats, comfortable ride and decent fuel economy.

Cons
failed transmission, mysterious stall, unusal brake pad ware

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
MARGRET J.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/26/2018
2nd highlander I’ve owned.
I replaced my 2006 highlander with this one and I’m not disappointed. Great car, and beautiful ride. If my 2006 hadn’t been totaled, I’d still be driving it. Hopefully, this one will be my last car,

Pros
Love the ride, interior, everything. I’ve already recommended it to friends and strangers who just come up and ask me about the car.

Cons
Could be a sportier color.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
ALEXANDRIA W.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/25/2018
I would choose this car over again.
Both the exterior and interior of this vehicle is everything I expected in a new vehicle. It feels safe to drive and maneuvers very well. It's also great to feel confident on the road in terms of reliability and access to services if anything were to go wrong while on the road. It did take me some time to adjust to the size of this car.

Pros
-reliable
-versatile

Cons
Can't think of any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
GARY W.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/14/2018
Dissapointed
We purchased the Highlander because of is reputation as a reliable , quality car. Around 1600 miles the car would not move even though the engine ran (Stopped at a stoplight). Had it towed and two service departments later nothing could be determined wrong. Has not occurred again as current mileage is near 7000 miles. Now there is an intermittent (whine while accelerating). I have owned may cars over the years can only relate the whine to the sound of my dads 36 ford pickup in compound low which none of you even know what I mean! The day before my service, the whine was very evident but not present when I had it service yesterday.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JAMES G.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/18/2018
2017 Highlander Hybrid XLE
Last year we moved up from a Ford Escape hybrid to our 2017 Highlander Hybrid XLE. Have not regretted it for an instant. Though only slightly larger than the Escape, the space is used well and the interior fits much better for my 6'4" height, especially for longer drives. I especially like the included safety features such as Radar cruise control and Blind spot mirrors.

Pros
A solid vehicle, performs to expectations (Which are pretty high!) Very comfortable to drive for long trips, and responsive to my demands. The"Fun to drive" rating is only 5 because I drive to get somewhere, and prefer to get there comfortably. I selected 5 because N/A was not an option!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MICHAEL G.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/09/2018
New Highlander excels my expectations
Our 2017 Highlander has been a pleasant vehicle to own . It has a smooth drive train with good power and acceleration . I was a little concerned switching from my previous Acura MDX to a Highlander because of the Acura's luxury performance and comfort but having driven the Highlander I now consider my new Toyota better in all aspects of driving a SUV . The interior is comfortable and quiet and the controls are intuitive to use . All the safety features have been well thought out and I am more confident about our protection on the road . The exterior has a unique design that doesn't mimic many of the other generic SUV styles and the body is fitted very well in construction . The mileage has performed as promised and this vehicle is getting close to 21 mpg in the city and 26+ mpg on the highway and I can burn regular gasoline instead of premium that was required with my previous MDX . I am looking forward to owning this vehicle for many years .

Pros
Everything I wanted in a SUV -- very balanced and secure with good traction on snow and ice . Quiet and smooth with plenty of power .

Cons
It is a pain to be required to stop and put the car in park to use the GPS to plot out a new address -- but I am sure all other makes now do this for consumer safety . Just liked the old way because at least the passenger could enter the data while I drove .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHNNY M.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/31/2017
Fun ride
Not just a suv it’s stylish,fast,with all the bells and whistles so comfortable for long drives and small enough to get around and park anywhere did I mention it sick looking as in hot . Toyota has out done themselves with this one

Pros
Fun to drive safe lots of storage and reliable cause it’s a Toyota.

Cons
Haven’t found one yet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 44 in total