2017
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5rating 4.68
4.7
(34 Reviews)
Latest review 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DL
DONALD L.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/20/2019
Best midsize SUV ever!
I bought this Highlander just under 2 years ago, it just turned 40,000 miles. I have had no troubles or issues at all. It drives/handles great, gets great gas mileage (hybrid), I plan on keeping it for a long long time.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
AMANDA B.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/04/2018
The best
My highlander is extremely reliable and can adjust to our families changing needs. The AWD is Great in the snow, the 3rd row is fabulous for a big crew and the trunk space when the third row isn’t in use is huge.

Pros
Convenience. Safety

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
GARY W.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/26/2018
Dissapointed
In the transmission started to make a whining sound intermittently and became consistent and loud around 8000 miles the transmission was replaced. Even though a technician had diagnosed the problem, it took Toyota 3 hours to authorize the repair and give me a rental car! An unexplained stall had to be towed but Toyota could not find anything wrong. Engine ran but car would not move. Called Toyota and it took 2 hours and 15 minutes for the tow truck to arrive! And an oil leak after the transmission was replaced. I do not tolerate cars that leak oil. I am 76 years old and have purchased countless new cars and the only other trans million failure was an 1985 Chevrolet. Have not bought one since.

Pros
My wife likes the heated seats. Blind spot monitoring.Gas Mileage is ok.

Cons
Reliability sucks. Toyota factory response leaves a lot to be improved. Cheap hood open rod holder, engine stop/ start at stops

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
GARY W.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/12/2018
I would not buy it again
Purchased new in October 2017. At 2327 miles car would not move when attempting to accelerate from a stop at a signal light. I stopped the engine, restarted the car and it still would not move. Called Toyota care to have it towed. Was told that would only authorize towing 12 miles and the tow truck would be there in 2 hours. I made a second call and was told the tow truck was on its way. It showed up well past 2 hours! Fortunately there was a dealer close enough. Dealer could not find anything wrong. Toyota suggested I take it to the dealer where purchased which I did with the same result.
On June 13,2018 I had the second service requested by the dealer. The service was fine. When I looked at my service notes I noticed the rear brake pads were measured 9 millimeters and the front pads were measured at 11 mm. Never owned a car where the rear brake pads wear more then the front. Called the service advisor and he asked if I had been towing any thing or hauling heave loads. I had done neither. Now at 8068 miles the transmission has been replaced after several months of intermittent "whining" which finally became loud and consistent .

Pros
great heated seats, comfortable ride and decent fuel economy.

Cons
failed transmission, mysterious stall, unusal brake pad ware

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MJ
MARGRET J.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/26/2018
2nd highlander I’ve owned.
I replaced my 2006 highlander with this one and I’m not disappointed. Great car, and beautiful ride. If my 2006 hadn’t been totaled, I’d still be driving it. Hopefully, this one will be my last car,

Pros
Love the ride, interior, everything. I’ve already recommended it to friends and strangers who just come up and ask me about the car.

Cons
Could be a sportier color.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AW
ALEXANDRIA W.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/25/2018
I would choose this car over again.
Both the exterior and interior of this vehicle is everything I expected in a new vehicle. It feels safe to drive and maneuvers very well. It's also great to feel confident on the road in terms of reliability and access to services if anything were to go wrong while on the road. It did take me some time to adjust to the size of this car.

Pros
-reliable
-versatile

Cons
Can't think of any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
GARY W.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
06/14/2018
Dissapointed
We purchased the Highlander because of is reputation as a reliable , quality car. Around 1600 miles the car would not move even though the engine ran (Stopped at a stoplight). Had it towed and two service departments later nothing could be determined wrong. Has not occurred again as current mileage is near 7000 miles. Now there is an intermittent (whine while accelerating). I have owned may cars over the years can only relate the whine to the sound of my dads 36 ford pickup in compound low which none of you even know what I mean! The day before my service, the whine was very evident but not present when I had it service yesterday.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JAMES G.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/18/2018
2017 Highlander Hybrid XLE
Last year we moved up from a Ford Escape hybrid to our 2017 Highlander Hybrid XLE. Have not regretted it for an instant. Though only slightly larger than the Escape, the space is used well and the interior fits much better for my 6'4" height, especially for longer drives. I especially like the included safety features such as Radar cruise control and Blind spot mirrors.

Pros
A solid vehicle, performs to expectations (Which are pretty high!) Very comfortable to drive for long trips, and responsive to my demands. The"Fun to drive" rating is only 5 because I drive to get somewhere, and prefer to get there comfortably. I selected 5 because N/A was not an option!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MICHAEL G.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/09/2018
New Highlander excels my expectations
Our 2017 Highlander has been a pleasant vehicle to own . It has a smooth drive train with good power and acceleration . I was a little concerned switching from my previous Acura MDX to a Highlander because of the Acura's luxury performance and comfort but having driven the Highlander I now consider my new Toyota better in all aspects of driving a SUV . The interior is comfortable and quiet and the controls are intuitive to use . All the safety features have been well thought out and I am more confident about our protection on the road . The exterior has a unique design that doesn't mimic many of the other generic SUV styles and the body is fitted very well in construction . The mileage has performed as promised and this vehicle is getting close to 21 mpg in the city and 26+ mpg on the highway and I can burn regular gasoline instead of premium that was required with my previous MDX . I am looking forward to owning this vehicle for many years .

Pros
Everything I wanted in a SUV -- very balanced and secure with good traction on snow and ice . Quiet and smooth with plenty of power .

Cons
It is a pain to be required to stop and put the car in park to use the GPS to plot out a new address -- but I am sure all other makes now do this for consumer safety . Just liked the old way because at least the passenger could enter the data while I drove .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHNNY M.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/31/2017
Fun ride
Not just a suv it’s stylish,fast,with all the bells and whistles so comfortable for long drives and small enough to get around and park anywhere did I mention it sick looking as in hot . Toyota has out done themselves with this one

Pros
Fun to drive safe lots of storage and reliable cause it’s a Toyota.

Cons
Haven’t found one yet

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
RICHARD T.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2017
New purchase
After totalling my 2007 Highlander Limited, replaced it with a new 2017 XLE. The changes since '07 are very impressive; Topyota is obviously listening to owners' needs and doing meaningful research. After 10 years with my '07 I wouild not consider anything else to replace it. I tow a camper, a boat, and a pontoon boat on the top. The Highlander is a workhorse, and yet super comfortable for family and pet long trips. What more can I say?

Pros
All of the above!

Cons
Would like to see it a little more cost-competitive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WH
WILLIAM H.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/31/2017
HIGHLANDER IS A TERRIFIC ROAD VEHICLE !! LOVE DRIVING IT. LOTS OF ROOM FOR GARAGE SALE ITEMS
WOULD BUY ANOTHER ONE WHEN NEEDED. A GOOD SOLID VEHICLE.

Pros
TOPS

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GK
GAYLE K.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2017
Good
Good

Pros
Auto highbeams

Cons
Don't like the auto start

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DANA ROBERT M.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2017
Toyota Highlander
Easy to drive and very comfortable

Pros
The hybrid has great mileage.

Cons
Haven't found any yet!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JV
JULIE V.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/03/2017
2017 Highlander XLE Slug
Compared to my 2015 Highlander Limited the 2017 XLE is loud, drives like a slug and has the little upgrades like seat position memory removed. It's not as an aggressive, luxury car. I had to downgrade to save on my lease payment and by doing so it was cut in half. Was it worth it? Probably. I miss my 2013 Highlander the most. The 2015 redesign of all Highlander's was awful.

Pros
Blue color hides dirt well. Reliable.

Cons
Not fun to drive - no performance feel to this car. The back camera constantly fils with water wheels raining. BEWARE. Toyota doesn't fix this. No seat position memory, no a/c seats, prepare to floor the gas to speed up. Terrible gas mileage at 18 mpg even with the engine auto shut off. Nothing overly special about this car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
MICHELLE A.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/29/2017
Love my Highlander!
I love the versatility of my highlander - whether I'm hauling gear, dogs or kids I know I can configure my vehicle to my needs with ease.

Pros
Good on gas mileage and comfortable for entire family.

Cons
A little slow to move

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
REX S.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/08/2017
Love the SUV wish seats were softer and more comfortable
Everything is GREAT. Except the seats. as noted below in "cons"

Pros
Overall a great vehicle. Looking forward to many years of safe and trouble free driving

Cons
Seats. The Driver seat and front passenger seat are not very comfortable. They are HARD and the passenger side has very little adjustability.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SR
SUMMER R.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2017
I love it
It great a car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WR
WILLIAM R.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2017
Love, Love, Love it.
I can't believe how quiet it is. I loved my old highlander and said it was my favorite car ever. Now I have a new favorite- my Ooh La La Rouge XLE. There is so much safety equipment on it that I did not have on my 2002 car.

Pros
Color, comfortable, good acceleration. So far everything has been good

Cons
None so far. I do wish it wasn't quite so big.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
JAMES A.
2017 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/08/2017
Perfect Vehicle!!
All around perfect ride, quiet, luxurious, spacious and comfortable.

So many safety features with my XLE, I wish I would have purchased sooner. Not to mention, it's stylish. New color choice combinations make the vehicle more unique. I don't have anything negative to say about this ride.

Pros
- Style
- Quality
- Safety Features
- Space

Cons
- Memory Seat in XLE (Ours didn't have one)
- Would be better if there were more choices of color combos with less chrome

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 34 in total