2003
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(39 Reviews)
Latest review 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DS
DAVID S.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/28/2020
Looks good, performs well.
Another well-made vehicle by Toyota. I recently acquired this vehicle, and so far so good. This vehicle has been highly recommended by my mechanic has been a quality vehicle, which gives me great confidence. I look forward to many years of the expected dependability this vehicle. It’s very comfortable and pleasant to drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
JOY R.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/22/2020
2003 Highlander
I have had this vehicle since 2005. It was the best purchase i ever made. I do the maintenance when it is due so there have been no surprises. I sometimes think i should buy a new car but decide that this car is serving me quite well.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
MARY P.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/13/2020
I love my Highlander
I absolutely love my 2003 Toyota Highlander I take care of it and it takes care of me. This car was my second Toyota and when I need another car, my plan is to purchase another Toyota. I recommend Toyota to anyone wanting a reliable vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KI
KATHY (AAA) I.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/24/2019
Excellent decision!
Bought the 2003 highlander limited in 2008. Has been an exceptional value for us, has not let us down. Service and parts have mostly been what all cars need: tires, shocks/struts, brakes, exhaust, o2 sensors. Replaced rear axle seals at 166k. Would buy again with no hesitation.

Pros
Reliability and dependability.

Cons
Gas mileage - but it IS a brick shape after all.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Dan D.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/31/2019
My Second Vehicle of the Same Era!
I purchased a four cylinder four wheel drive, one of few made, in 2001. After 239.000 miles I had to give it up. The frame rusted. Not because of defects, because I had not been good about under spray and lived in the North. I search out yet another same era four cylinder, found one with under 100,000 miles and snapped it up. These are bulletproof, not perfect, the climate controls become iffy on on electronic dashes, but very few non maintenance issues. The bodies do not rust. The engines last forever and the transmissions, well never put a dime in either one. Highly recommended, the four cylinder.

Pros
Reliability, decent fuel mileage with the four.

Cons
Rear middle seat is quite uncomfortable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
KAREN M.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/18/2019
230k and runs like the day I bought it!!
I keep trying to find a reason to replace my highlander, but can't. This has been a terrific vehicle in all sense of the word. Drives like a car but I use it like a truck.
Best vehicle I ever owned!!

Pros
best vehicle ever

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
DEBRA W.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/04/2019
Great car
I like the size, and the fact I can see out the back, better than newer SUV models that I have tried. My only complaint.....seats tilt back, as do most cars. This is the wrong angle for my hip. If the seat was flatter. It would be perfect!

Pros
Close to perfect! See cons below. Love being able to haul garden stuff! Easy to load, and clean.

Cons
Seat needs to be flatter, as hip problems require a 90 degree angle, not having knees higher than hips. I have to use a removable pad. Needs a little more room for left foot. A little better gas mileage, but as I don't drive much, this isn't top priority.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Dan D.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/01/2019
I had a 2001 these are bulletproof
I had a 2001 these are bulletproof when my 2001 frame started to fail frankly because I did not wash the underneath enough I bought a 2003 I had over 235,000 miles on the 2001 with very few problems the 2003 which I bought with 90,000 miles and have since put on 15,000 miles it’s equally bullet proof this time I under coded the frame and take it to the car wash get the four Cylinder it’s a much better engine and six

Pros
Decent mileage excellent build quality

Cons
If you get the four-cylinder it’s quite slow but I don’t care

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
GAIL R.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/13/2018
wonderful vehicle
My 15 year old Highlander is the best car purchase I've ever made. Regular scheduled maintenance has kept this car going without any major issues. Great rear visibility and spacious cargo area. This is a basic, no frills version Highlander and I've been very happy with this car.

Pros
Spacious cargo area.
Good rear seat leg room.
Quick heating and cooling system

Cons
Can't think of any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
ROBERT B.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/31/2018
Toyota Highlander
Reliable and trouble free vehicle. Comfortable with lots of space.... Drove the vehicle from Maryland to California to Vancouver, Canada with ease, comfort and knowing it will not give me any trouble. Happy and Thankful!

Pros
Reliable

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DON A and NANCY H.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/02/2018
2003 Toyota Highlander - Best Car we have ever owned
My wife and I purchase cars with everything that we want on them and drive them until they fall apart. Reliability is everything for us. The Highlander is my wife's car and she picked it out new after driving 9 other cars in 2003. I can say without a doubt that this is one of the best cars that we have purchased. This car looks brand new (you would not believe that it has 110 thousand miles) because we have garage kept this car its entire life. I have only had to do three things to the car besides routine maintenance: 1) new rear axle due to wheel rotation sensor, 2) replace rear axle bearings (left & right), and 3) replace suspension bushings (front but I also replaced rear). Other than that, this car has been rock solid.There is NO rust and the motor sounds like it did when we drove it off the lot in 2003. Our next car (if we ever need to replace this Highlander) will be another Highlander.

Pros
Reliable
Holds its appearance
Easy enough for me to perform most routine maintenance
Fun to drive even if I personally do not like automatics

Cons
I sometimes wonder if State Car Inspections find issues only to have customers pay for needless fixes. I had to address suspension bushings on this car only after 100 thousand miles. Smells a little odd to me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Doug D.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/06/2018
03 toyo Highlander
We love this car at 200K mileage. Great road ride, easy on gas. Has been very reliable-only 2 fuel relay/pump issues in years. That's all we've had to deal with. NHTSA website says engine bolts strip. Heads, et al. Not for us (crossed fingers).
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
Paul C.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/01/2018
Great suv
I love it since the day I bought it in 2003. Will be shopping around for a new one probably this year. It has 198,000 miles but I love it. Never has broken down for me which I had to call AAA!!!! It is still going good.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
BRUCE S.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/23/2017
One of the Best vehicles
This is the best vehicles that anyone could purchase. Bought this used with 30000 miles and now at 255911. Once we’ll maintained this will last a long time. This has also been excellent in the snow. Solidly built.

Pros
Reliability. Handles well in snow.

Cons
None from my perspective

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
BOB P.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/16/2017
14 year love affair
I have had this Highlander for 14 years and 175K miles. It's getting worn, like me, but is still dependable and performs well. Love it!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
TAMMY T.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/27/2017
2003 Toyota Highlander
Super running vehicle! Best vegicle I have ever had!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
ROBERT S.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/18/2017
Great Car
This is the best car I've owned. Getting reading to buy another Toyota.

Pros
Great car. Can't believe it's lasted so long. Thanks to the guys that take care of it!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
CHRIS K.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/14/2017
Very dependable
This car is old in years but still looks new!
Thanks to Ulmers— car is in good shape and still running great !
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PA
PAULA A.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/12/2017
I LOVE my 03 Highlander!
I bought the SUV used in 04 with 25,000 miles on it. It is the first vehicle I ever searched for and found online. It is the V-6 3.0 L engine. It gets surprisingly good gas mileage - even in town. We came out of a problem-plagued GM-brand car that had been in the shop every month for the previous 12 months. That's when I switched from a GM loyalist to a Toyota owner. Other than regular maintenance and care for a now older vehicle, the Highlander has been dependable and fun to drive. It is just the right size for us.

Pros
Very dependable, easy to find someone to work on it (which it rarely needs)

Cons
We live in a rural area and sometimes it would be nice if it had more towing capacity.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
TAMMY T.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/09/2017
2003 Toyota Highlander - My favorite vehicle
I went into Landes Family Auto Sales wanting a little SUV that would run great and be safe and dependable! Landes walked me through the lot and I spotted my Highlander. I couldn't believe the vehicle was a 2003!! Very well maintained and it was so clean! My Highlander has over 188,000 miles and is still going like a new car!! With regular check ups and maintenance at Landes, I plan to have my little gem for years to come! We have purchased 2 vehicles from Landes and have referred many happy customers! Love my TOYOTA HIGHLANDER!

Cons
There is not a lot of room to put "stuff" in the car and the open area under the middle console is a gaping black hole! If its lost under there, it will take a search team to find that quarter, lighter, lip gloss, and yes the blessed phone!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 39 in total