2003
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.91/5Overall Rating 4.91/5Overall Rating 4.91/5Overall Rating 4.91/5rating 4.91
4.9
(32 Reviews)
Latest review 3 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DD
Dan D.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/01/2019
I had a 2001 these are bulletproof
I had a 2001 these are bulletproof when my 2001 frame started to fail frankly because I did not wash the underneath enough I bought a 2003 I had over 235,000 miles on the 2001 with very few problems the 2003 which I bought with 90,000 miles and have since put on 15,000 miles it’s equally bullet proof this time I under coded the frame and take it to the car wash get the four Cylinder it’s a much better engine and six

Pros
Decent mileage excellent build quality

Cons
If you get the four-cylinder it’s quite slow but I don’t care

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
GAIL R.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2018
wonderful vehicle
My 15 year old Highlander is the best car purchase I've ever made. Regular scheduled maintenance has kept this car going without any major issues. Great rear visibility and spacious cargo area. This is a basic, no frills version Highlander and I've been very happy with this car.

Pros
Spacious cargo area.
Good rear seat leg room.
Quick heating and cooling system

Cons
Can't think of any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
ROBERT B.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2018
Toyota Highlander
Reliable and trouble free vehicle. Comfortable with lots of space.... Drove the vehicle from Maryland to California to Vancouver, Canada with ease, comfort and knowing it will not give me any trouble. Happy and Thankful!

Pros
Reliable

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DON A and NANCY H.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/02/2018
2003 Toyota Highlander - Best Car we have ever owned
My wife and I purchase cars with everything that we want on them and drive them until they fall apart. Reliability is everything for us. The Highlander is my wife's car and she picked it out new after driving 9 other cars in 2003. I can say without a doubt that this is one of the best cars that we have purchased. This car looks brand new (you would not believe that it has 110 thousand miles) because we have garage kept this car its entire life. I have only had to do three things to the car besides routine maintenance: 1) new rear axle due to wheel rotation sensor, 2) replace rear axle bearings (left & right), and 3) replace suspension bushings (front but I also replaced rear). Other than that, this car has been rock solid.There is NO rust and the motor sounds like it did when we drove it off the lot in 2003. Our next car (if we ever need to replace this Highlander) will be another Highlander.

Pros
Reliable
Holds its appearance
Easy enough for me to perform most routine maintenance
Fun to drive even if I personally do not like automatics

Cons
I sometimes wonder if State Car Inspections find issues only to have customers pay for needless fixes. I had to address suspension bushings on this car only after 100 thousand miles. Smells a little odd to me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Doug D.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/06/2018
03 toyo Highlander
We love this car at 200K mileage. Great road ride, easy on gas. Has been very reliable-only 2 fuel relay/pump issues in years. That's all we've had to deal with. NHTSA website says engine bolts strip. Heads, et al. Not for us (crossed fingers).
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
Paul C.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/01/2018
Great suv
I love it since the day I bought it in 2003. Will be shopping around for a new one probably this year. It has 198,000 miles but I love it. Never has broken down for me which I had to call AAA!!!! It is still going good.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
BRUCE S.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/23/2017
One of the Best vehicles
This is the best vehicles that anyone could purchase. Bought this used with 30000 miles and now at 255911. Once we’ll maintained this will last a long time. This has also been excellent in the snow. Solidly built.

Pros
Reliability. Handles well in snow.

Cons
None from my perspective

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
BOB P.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/16/2017
14 year love affair
I have had this Highlander for 14 years and 175K miles. It's getting worn, like me, but is still dependable and performs well. Love it!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
TAMMY T.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/27/2017
2003 Toyota Highlander
Super running vehicle! Best vegicle I have ever had!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
ROBERT S.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2017
Great Car
This is the best car I've owned. Getting reading to buy another Toyota.

Pros
Great car. Can't believe it's lasted so long. Thanks to the guys that take care of it!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CK
CHRIS K.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/14/2017
Very dependable
This car is old in years but still looks new!
Thanks to Ulmers— car is in good shape and still running great !
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PA
PAULA A.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/12/2017
I LOVE my 03 Highlander!
I bought the SUV used in 04 with 25,000 miles on it. It is the first vehicle I ever searched for and found online. It is the V-6 3.0 L engine. It gets surprisingly good gas mileage - even in town. We came out of a problem-plagued GM-brand car that had been in the shop every month for the previous 12 months. That's when I switched from a GM loyalist to a Toyota owner. Other than regular maintenance and care for a now older vehicle, the Highlander has been dependable and fun to drive. It is just the right size for us.

Pros
Very dependable, easy to find someone to work on it (which it rarely needs)

Cons
We live in a rural area and sometimes it would be nice if it had more towing capacity.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TT
TAMMY T.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/09/2017
2003 Toyota Highlander - My favorite vehicle
I went into Landes Family Auto Sales wanting a little SUV that would run great and be safe and dependable! Landes walked me through the lot and I spotted my Highlander. I couldn't believe the vehicle was a 2003!! Very well maintained and it was so clean! My Highlander has over 188,000 miles and is still going like a new car!! With regular check ups and maintenance at Landes, I plan to have my little gem for years to come! We have purchased 2 vehicles from Landes and have referred many happy customers! Love my TOYOTA HIGHLANDER!

Cons
There is not a lot of room to put "stuff" in the car and the open area under the middle console is a gaping black hole! If its lost under there, it will take a search team to find that quarter, lighter, lip gloss, and yes the blessed phone!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHN M.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2017
A trooper
Carries lots of stuff, lasts, doesn't need much service

Pros
See above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
LAURA G.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/21/2017
2003 Highlander
I love this vehicle. In 14 years I have NEVER had to make a repair. I have just done routine maintenance. 173000 miles and going strong!

Pros
Perfect size for my needs. Extremely reliable

Cons
None for it being a 2003 year vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
BRUCE S.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/19/2017
Excellent!!
Runs perfect at 248000 miles with maintenance. Best vehicle ever.

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Can't think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
ROBERT S.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2017
Great car
Car is in excellent condition. I will purchase a Toyota again. Thank you Nick Larsen for keeping my buggy going.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
Sandra K.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/08/2017
2003 TOYOTA HIGHLANDER
Owned this car since it was new and I love it. Would bot trade it for any other model/make.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
John W.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/28/2016
2003 Toyota highlander
Very comfortable car. Major negative is excessive wind noise at speed, also dashboard details are difficult to read in bright light. These faults probably eliminated in subsequent models. Has been very reliable probably due to regular servicing. Interior storage, cup holders etc need improving.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
ROBERT M.
2003 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2016
2003 Toyota Highlander
Lost 2 cars, 2008 Ford Eddie Bauer loaded Explorer & 2004 VW Passat wagon AWD in Sandy's flood.. I found a 2003 Highlander 4WD on the internet at Glenn Mills Toyota Dealer in PA with 53,000 ± miles. I asked what was wrong with the car, Nothing ! it's a 2003 and nobody wants a 2003 i was told, Best buy I ever made. Rides better than the Explorer better gas mileage. Looking for a newest HIghlander that is not AWD probably a 2013-14. Just passed the 89,000 mark, this is a keeper.

Pros
Ride, handling, gas mileage, seating comfort
Fun car to drive, Quick and safe

Cons
not a lot of electronic extras on a 2003, no computer for gas mileage or GPS systems but nothing to go wrong either

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 32 in total