Style image original

2006
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5rating 4.64

28 Reviews

Latest review about 1 month ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 03/20/2018
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"GREAT SUV"

GREAT SUV, Rides nice, drives very good in bad weather. I Would definitely buy another. I bought it used, one owner, low miles, my only complaint is, I wish it had a sun/moon roof! I recommend this car to any one that wants an SUV or just a good car.

Pros
GREAT SUV

Cons
No MOON ROOF

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/16/2018
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Great Car "

We bought this car right off the lot in 05 and we continue to drive the heck out of it all over the place. Up and down the coast numerous times as well as up to WA . This little car has given us nothing but smooth rides everywhere. I would buy this car again if need. This Highlander even after 220k miles still has plenty of get up and go . Never any major issues w/ this. Highly recommended

Pros
I have nothing but good things to say about my Highlander Never had any major issues with it. and I have over 220k miles on it

Cons
Would like to see a bit more leg room in the back seat or rear seat heaters but that's about it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/01/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love my Highlander!"

Best purchase ever. Love my Highlander Purchased it new and it was the best decision ever. It’s comfortable and fun to drive. Plenty of storage. It’s our vehicle of choice when we go on road trips. I would definitely recommend the Highlander to everyone.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/15/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Nice"

We bought this fresh off the lot. Brand new. And drive the hell out of it. Over 214k and still going on strong

Pros
I get low on fuel often And I have never had an issue getting to the gas station. Very dependable

Cons
N/a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/15/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Dependable vehicle with a great reputation for great maintenance and reliability. I feel safe driving it."

I bought the Highlander as a used vehicle and have learned to trust its reliability and driving ease. Would recommend it to everyone who wanted a very reliable, good maintenance and safe driving SUV.

Pros
easy maintenance, easy to drive, very reliable

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/29/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Will Buy Another one in about 100K miles"

Such a wonderful vehicle. It was my first SUV, but not first car. Almost at 200K miles and will push it to 300K. Unless my lifestyle changes dramatically, I will get another Highlander.

Pros
Reliable and the hybrid is great on gas mileage.

Cons
My model has the spark plugs in a weird place so a lot had to be removed to get to the spark plugs so they can be changed. This design flaw was changed in the next model, but it cost me a pretty penny when it was time to change the sparks

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/09/2017
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"Overall a fine vehicle "

We've had our 2006 for 6 years now. I really shouldn't have been chosen to write a review as we purchased our Highlander with a salvage title. The people who "fixed" the car before our purchase were crooks. They bypassed every safety precausion and every detail in order to save money. According to our mechanic, we could have blown up inside our SUV after the gas line wasn't tightened, and the safety switch or connection wasn't either and it came unhooked... non of the doors shut correctly and the power windows don't work well or at all. No seals are tight and the tires wear off like butter. Not as spacious as a minivan of course either. Haha. That was our mistake of buying it but it had low miles and was priced well compared to all the non salvaged Highlander's out there. Besides all the body (less than) imperfections, the motor has been running great. Never any real issues. It was stolen this summer and we both were hoping it wouldn't be recovered which it did. So now we have this very poor functioning car back. The interesting thing is that despite all the physical problems we have with this car, I still love it (my husband hates it). So here is a average 3 star rating for you.

Pros
Very sturdy. 7 seat option make this car great for emergency situations but it's not meant for full time full capacity usage especially not once the kids have grown to be as tall as me. All wheel drive is a fine feature to have. Has all power everything. Great for towing trailer as well.

Cons
No room once the 3rd row is in use. Best for smaller passengers especially back row. Not much leg room.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/03/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Comfortable ride"

The car runs great. No major problems or breakdowns. Great vehicle and it is very comfortable and lots of room for long road trips.When we need to replace this car, we will probably get another Toyota.

Pros
Dependable, comfortable, affordable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/22/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"12 years still running"

Never needed anything but basic maintenance

Pros
Reliable

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/18/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"The most reliable car I've ever had"

I absolutely love my highlander. I bought it new in 2006, it is now 2017 and she is still going strong. I've kept up on the normal maintenance and have had very few problems. The car ate the first set of tires, but they were cheap Toyo tires, the last set were Michelins and they lasted 90,000 miles. I highly recommend this vehicle.

Pros
I've made some improvements to the car - it was a base model and I have installed an aftermarket double din touchscreen radio, new speakers, new wheels, and a remote start/security system.

Cons
4 cylinder is slow to get moving compared to other cars on the road - racing is not something to do in this car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/10/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2006 Toyota Highlander Hybrid"

I'm very fond of Toyotas, having had them since 1991 (two Previas and this one. The first was still running strong after more than 300,000 miles). The Hybrid gives me about 28 mpg on the highway, and has been very reliable, with no major powertrain problems, and one right front axle replacement.

Pros
Very steady and sensitive steering Smooth acceleration through the range, very responsive

Cons
Rear visibility Rear wiper blade does not pull out fully for cleaning Maintenance warning light too bright, comes on too early

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/09/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2006 Toyota Highlander "

It has been a really reliable car and I would buy another one but not from either of the local dealerships. Freeman and Handel are both rip-offs

Pros
Room for five adults and two kids or a couple of dogs. Appointments are nice and comfortable.

Cons
Expensive Gas mileage was not as good as they advertised but still better than my 4-Runner.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/26/2017
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"Not what I expect from a Toyota"

Ive owned 2 Camrys which are great cars and still own 1. It has 220,000 miles and has never had a problem with it. The Highlander has 100,000 miles and has had sensor issues, we needed to replace the alternator and needs a catalitic converter. Really disappointed. I wouldnt buy another but i would definitely buy another Camry.
Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/18/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Highlander"

We love our car, good mileage. Good condition.

Pros
We just plan love it

Cons
There is nothing we don't like about it.

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/04/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Good vehicle"

It's almost 11 yrs. old and all I have had to do is purchase a battery, new tires, oil changes, a alternator, and brakes. No major expense. Would buy another Toyota.

Pros
Not enough value when selling compared to price pd. Low maintenance. Great car and very good ride for a SUV

Cons
Too expensive

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/27/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2006 Toyota Highlander Hybrid Limited"

Vehicle runs great, very comfortable. Gas mileage on the Hybrid is good,

Pros
Has lots of immediate power(hybrid/cvt), very comfortable.

Cons
Third row seating is only good for small kids/short trips

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/22/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Highlander trip-check"

Trip-cheeked then realized shimming in the steering wheel and took back. They did front end alignment, balancing added weights on one tire. No shimmy and all ready for a trip.

Cons
Arthritis in hands hurt on long trips.

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/28/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love my Highlander!"

Easy to handle, great visibility. Good gas mileage, lots of space in the back, and third row seating is perfect for the occasional group ride. No complaints at all.
Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/12/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love this car!"

Best car I have ever purchased! I love my highlander!!

Pros
Great car in every way! Efficient, dependable, looks great, comfortable!

Cons
None

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/10/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I'm Happy"

The best vehicle I have ever owned after 56 years! My last domestic car was in 1985 and I have been "Japanese" ever since (One Honda, the rest Toyota)

Pros
The best!

Cons
Too much mileage!! (2!!,000)

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 28 in total