Style image original

2002
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.86/5Overall Rating 4.86/5Overall Rating 4.86/5Overall Rating 4.86/5rating 4.86

21 Reviews

Latest review 2 months ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 02/17/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Over all review"

A great car; I have now had this car for all 16 years of its life. Apart from my daughters crash - when she decided to crash into another vehicle - this car has been just great and has always got me home. At my most recent service they said that this car is like a car that is only a few years old and not the 16 year old it is. They said I should keep the car as it has only had minimal repairs and probably will go for another 150,000 miles if I want it to. No rust and with that report I will probably keep it as a second car when it is bad weather or it snows or when my convertible is in the shop.

Pros
Wonderful reliable car, has never let me down, I will keep it!

Cons
The radio, airbag system etc and no longer "state of the art" as the car was designed over 15 years ago. I have not changed the radio (but could) but part from that it has been a fabulous car and great value for the money!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/04/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2002 Toyota Highlander"

A quality car. Three timing belts in 255,692 miles is the only money besides oil change I have spent on this car. Love my Highlander. Smooth ride, no road noise, comfortable, corners well, excellent excellaration, easily makes tight turns.

Pros
Reliability

Cons
Zero

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/29/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"best ever"

2002 highlander best suv ever, dependable, fun to own, great on long trips and those short ones around town can't say enough about this suv

Pros
see above

Cons
see above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/15/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Services done for my vehicle "

Their services are very good and they deliver as promised.

Pros
Comitted

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/14/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2002 Highlander"

Have never been disappointed with this vehicle. Our 3 year old grand daughter says she loves it because she can see out the windows.

Pros
Best ride I've ever experienced in a SUV. Great fuel economy. 15 years old and everything still works.

Cons
Leg room on the front passenger seat gets a little tight on longer trips. Lack of adjustable lumbar support on the front passenger seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/28/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Toyota SUV"

2002 Highlander has 176k miles. Drives more like only 17k Have loved this vehicle since original lease/purchase

Pros
Reliability and longevity

Cons
Moderate gas mileage. Some road noise without radio in use

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/26/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love My Car"

Love my Highlander!!❤️ I have only spent money n maintance, and very little at that! I have changed the oil regularly. Over 250,000 miles, 1 break job, 1 timing belt replaced, shocks. That's it. Have gotten my monies worth. It's clean inside n out. No plans on replacing it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/21/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"still having fun"

love to get in and go, great ride, still enjoy the ride
Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/11/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great car!!!"

Love that car. Just want to have more luxury!!

Pros
Great car and run forever

Cons
Old model

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/10/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Reliable and A Pleasure to Drive"

I have had my 2002 Highlander since it was brand new. It has served me well. What I like most about my car is that it drives like a car, not an SUV. I test drove other SUV's and found the handling atrocious. Not my Highlander. I don't even want to trade it in for another one!

Pros
This car was well-made. It has held up well for the past 15 years!

Cons
I find it hard to park, but it may be my lack of prowess in parking. I used to own a sports car!

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/28/2016
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Great vehicle"

The 2002 highlander we own has been an extremely reliable vehicle and we plan to keep it for as long as possible. it has stood up to some punishment over the years but continues to perform with minimal maintenance.

Pros
Reliable, comfortable, sturdy. Most trouble-free vehicle I have ever owned. Its high cab helps us see over traffic and is easier on my knees.

Cons
Some maintenance is expensive i.e. timing belt. Also It's difficult for a homeowner to check and change the back three spark plugs.

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/18/2016
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2002 Toyota Highlander"

Overall, the vehicle has had few problems. It is roomy and handles well on the road.

Pros
Fun to drive. Comfortable leather seats. Few vehicle breakdowns. Motor has good power to handle entering freeway.

Cons
Leaks water down the front door post, mainly on driver's side. Usually when it rains, sometimes after a car wash. The water drips to the carpet just inside door. Toyota dealer couldn't make it happen, so they couldn't fix the problem.

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/27/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"An Oldie But Definitely A Goodie"

My highlander is 14 years old. True, it has less than 100,000 miles, but it runs like a dream and is as reliant as can be. I am loathe to trading it in.

Pros
It handles well, has not required much maintenance, is well worth the price, and is extremely reliable.

Cons
Because of it size, it is a bit hard to park.

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/27/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Highlander"

Great riding Great all around suv Love it
Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/24/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Toyota lover"

Best vehicle i have ever owned. Very reliable, low maintenance. Have had it for 14yrs and still runs like new. Planning on buying another.
Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/10/2015
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Car"

Plan to own this car until I die. Runs like a champ and built like a tank. It takes on anything I dish out.

Pros
It will last forever with proper maintenance.

Cons
It's 13 years old. I would like some of the features of the new cars - blue tooth, etc.

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/22/2015
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I love it."

Have had no trouble at all in 13 years.
Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/26/2015
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"MY WONDERFUL HIGHLANDER"

My 2002 Toyota Highlander is the best vehicle I have ever owned. Yes, it has an AC problem right now. I have driven the car for 13 years. It has over 150,000 miles on it and other than the AC I have never had a problem. I love it!

Pros
I love everything about this vehicle. I especially appreciate the face that I can get in and out of the vehicle easily. I have fibromyalgia and deal with constant pain and limited mobility, so this is really important to me.

Cons
What cons?

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/14/2015
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My highlander"

This is the fourth Toyota I have owned & the best one yet. I also have a 1997 Rav 4 with over 200,000 miles on it. Toyotas have never let me down

Cons
Rear window doesn't go down No wing windows

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/24/2015
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Toyota makes cars that are just plain terrific."

We have had this car for 13 years. While there have been maintenance tasks, as usual, the Highlander has been wonderful. It just runs and runs and runs. No problems to date with the transmission, engine, or anything else major. What a car.

Pros
reliability reliability reliability

Cons
Can't think of any.

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 21 in total