2002
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5rating 4.88

25 Reviews

Latest review 2 months ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

VB
Virginia B.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/15/2018
2002?Highlander
I bought my Highlander when they were brand new in the market. I have never had anything catastrophic go wrong with my trusty little car. I love the smallness of it. You could put mine into one of the new Highlander they are that big! Go back to the smaller model Toyota.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
SANDY B.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/11/2018
It has been a very dependable and comfortable car for the last 16 years.
Good family, and that includes the dogs, kind of car. We bought it brand new and it has proven its worth many times over. Rides and drives well and has plenty of power. However, with the V-6 motor, the best we have ever gotten for mileage is 22mpg. That is our only complaint.

Pros
Good handling, comfortable car.

Cons
Mileage could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Betty B.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2018
Love my old highlander 2002
Would buy another if I had the money..it is a comfortable and easy to drive vehicle..room for 5 passengers..good visability, cargo sufficient..only required service has been needed..I hope it lasts til milage reaches 200,000.

Pros
Safe, easy to drive, good visability..

Cons
It's getting old..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
JOETTE F.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/13/2018
The best
I’ve had my highlander for about seven years now and have loved driving it every day. It has been extremely reliable and has never broken down, I have over 200,000 miles on it and it runs wonderful and my mechanic says I’ll get another 1000,000 miles easy. I’m the second owner and have every recite from previous owner so I know everything about my car. I’m very happy I bought a Toyota Highlander!!!

Pros
Handles great, looks great, very dependable

Cons
Can’t really think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
ALASDAIR C.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/17/2018
Over all review
A great car; I have now had this car for all 16 years of its life. Apart from my daughters crash - when she decided to crash into another vehicle - this car has been just great and has always got me home. At my most recent service they said that this car is like a car that is only a few years old and not the 16 year old it is. They said I should keep the car as it has only had minimal repairs and probably will go for another 150,000 miles if I want it to. No rust and with that report I will probably keep it as a second car when it is bad weather or it snows or when my convertible is in the shop.

Pros
Wonderful reliable car, has never let me down, I will keep it!

Cons
The radio, airbag system etc and no longer "state of the art" as the car was designed over 15 years ago. I have not changed the radio (but could) but part from that it has been a fabulous car and great value for the money!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NE
NANCI E.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/04/2018
2002 Toyota Highlander
A quality car. Three timing belts in 255,692 miles is the only money besides oil change I have spent on this car. Love my Highlander. Smooth ride, no road noise, comfortable, corners well, excellent excellaration, easily makes tight turns.

Pros
Reliability

Cons
Zero

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Dee W.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/29/2017
best ever
2002 highlander best suv ever, dependable, fun to own, great on long trips and those short ones around town
can't say enough about this suv

Pros
see above

Cons
see above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Bijay P.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/15/2017
Services done for my vehicle
Their services are very good and they deliver as promised.

Pros
Comitted

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DON H.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2017
2002 Highlander
Have never been disappointed with this vehicle. Our 3 year old grand daughter says she loves it because she can see out the windows.

Pros
Best ride I've ever experienced in a SUV.
Great fuel economy.
15 years old and everything still works.

Cons
Leg room on the front passenger seat gets a little tight on longer trips.
Lack of adjustable lumbar support on the front passenger seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DONALD B.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/28/2017
Toyota SUV
2002 Highlander has 176k miles. Drives more like only 17k Have loved this vehicle since original lease/purchase

Pros
Reliability and longevity

Cons
Moderate gas mileage. Some road noise without radio in use

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NE
NANCI E.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/26/2017
Love My Car
Love my Highlander!!❤️ I have only spent money n maintance, and very little at that! I have changed the oil regularly. Over 250,000 miles, 1 break job, 1 timing belt replaced, shocks. That's it. Have gotten my monies worth. It's clean inside n out. No plans on replacing it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Dee W.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2017
still having fun
love to get in and go, great ride, still enjoy the ride
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
NATALIA M.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/11/2017
Great car!!!
Love that car. Just want to have more luxury!!

Pros
Great car and run forever

Cons
Old model

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
JULIE R.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/10/2017
Reliable and A Pleasure to Drive
I have had my 2002 Highlander since it was brand new. It has served me well. What I like most about my car is that it drives like a car, not an SUV. I test drove other SUV's and found the handling atrocious. Not my Highlander. I don't even want to trade it in for another one!

Pros
This car was well-made. It has held up well for the past 15 years!

Cons
I find it hard to park, but it may be my lack of prowess in parking. I used to own a sports car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
BRUCE G.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/28/2016
Great vehicle
The 2002 highlander we own has been an extremely reliable vehicle and we plan to keep it for as long as possible. it has stood up to some punishment over the years but continues to perform with minimal maintenance.

Pros
Reliable, comfortable, sturdy. Most trouble-free vehicle I have ever owned. Its high cab helps us see over traffic and is easier on my knees.

Cons
Some maintenance is expensive i.e. timing belt. Also It's difficult for a homeowner to check and change the back three spark plugs.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BR
BETTY R.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/18/2016
2002 Toyota Highlander
Overall, the vehicle has had few problems. It is roomy and handles well on the road.

Pros
Fun to drive. Comfortable leather seats. Few vehicle breakdowns. Motor has good power to handle entering freeway.

Cons
Leaks water down the front door post, mainly on driver's side. Usually when it rains, sometimes after a car wash. The water drips to the carpet just inside door. Toyota dealer couldn't make it happen, so they couldn't fix the problem.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
JULIE R.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/27/2016
An Oldie But Definitely A Goodie
My highlander is 14 years old. True, it has less than 100,000 miles, but it runs like a dream and is as reliant as can be. I am loathe to trading it in.

Pros
It handles well, has not required much maintenance, is well worth the price, and is extremely reliable.

Cons
Because of it size, it is a bit hard to park.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Dee W.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2016
Highlander
Great riding
Great all around suv
Love it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WR
WADE R.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/24/2016
Toyota lover
Best vehicle i have ever owned. Very reliable, low maintenance. Have had it for 14yrs and still runs like new. Planning on buying another.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
Terry C.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/10/2015
Great Car
Plan to own this car until I die. Runs like a champ and built like a tank. It takes on anything I dish out.

Pros
It will last forever with proper maintenance.

Cons
It's 13 years old. I would like some of the features of the new cars - blue tooth, etc.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 25 in total