2019
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(34 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SE
Steve E.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/27/2020
Tires and rims
Only 20,000 mies and paint is coming off of rims and the tires are bald already!
After i sent $41,000 on this vehicle you would think they would put some better rims and tires.
I have owned 6 Toyota's and never had these problems before!

Pros
Very roomy, quiet and smooth

Cons
Terrible gas mileage, rims and tires.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BM
BYRON M.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/14/2020
Heaven
I had a Rav4, I always wanted a highlander because I have 3 kids, 4 dogs, and friends and we had no room in the Rav4. Great little car. I always tried to justify buying the Highlander but I could not see a big difference justifying the price or buying a new car. The cost was not really as bad as I thought it would be and the quality of Toyota is worth the price. I have bought American and every other kind and I can honestly say the reliability I have grown to love. I can say I have never been stranded anywhere and all I have to do is the regular maintenance. Being a retired Mechanic I have seen all types and styles of cars and trucks. I love Chrysler's design but the reliability has been a concern and I have owned chevy and ford, and transmissions are not cheap. The Highlander has all the bells and whistles more than I knew they offered.

Pros
Comfort, reliability, features, value for the money; compared to American made cars if you went head to head with price and value for all you get I feel I am further a head in Toyota because of reliability.

Cons
I didn't buy one sooner.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
RICHARD F.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/07/2020
Recall in progress?
Received recall report on our 2019 Highlander with apparently no fix in place. At this time can’t decide if we should get a rental car which you would provide. Thank you. Any information on when this fix will be available?

Pros
Seems like it gets a little better mileage than our 2009 Highlander.

Cons
Recall with no fix in place.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CINDI C.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/29/2020
Love my Highlander!!
This is my second Toyota. I had a Camary that lasted for years and many miles. I wanted an SUV, so I chose the Highlander this time. I love the V-6 engine, because it gives me the power I need. It has a quiet interior from road noise. It handles great in snow and rainy wet roads. Also, I am a music buff and love the sound quality from the stereo system and it has all the high tech safety features and gadgets like navigation, Bluetooth, heated side mirrors and windshield wipers.

Pros
Quite interior
Bluetooth
Heated Seats
Optional third row seating

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
RICHARD W.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/17/2020
2019 Highlander
It is my wife's car. She loves it. Never seen her take car of a car so well. She always talks about s about how great the car is !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!It was money well spent. She deserves it.

Pros
AWD, color, power, seating.

Cons
The seat does not back up to allow leg room for entering and exiting the vehicle automatically.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
HARLAN R.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/31/2019
2019 Highlander review
You sit up to high enough to comfortably see the road ahead. The backup camera and warning system is a great feature especially in crowded parking lots on busy shopping days. My son joked with me, 'You finally bought a car that will outlast you'. I believe it because when I ask others about their Toyota's, a lot of them say , they have over 200,000 thousand miles on them. I believe my highlander will do the same.
I wanted a auto that was stylist, and functional, without all the extra electronic gadgets. The Highlander LE Plus is exactly what I wanted. It tows my 16 foot boat easily, has the power to pass when needed, and parks in parking lots easily.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PJ
PAMELA J.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/30/2019
Spacious, Attractive, Fun to Drive & Great Fuel Economy!
It hasn't even been 24 hrs yet, LOL! However, so far, we are very happy with our new Hybrid Highlander. It is very roomy, attractive and fun to drive. I only gave it 8 because we really haven't had enough time to drive it more than 10 miles and/or use all the features. Hopefully, I can come back to edit after we have driven it for a month.

Pros
I'll know more after we have driven it for at least a month.

Cons
I wish the headlights were automatic. I didn't realized they weren't until we were driving home from dealership. I probably wasn't listening well enough, LOL! I'll know more after we have driven it for a month.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
JUDITH F.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/20/2019
Love it.
This is the best car I have driven. Comfortable, get power when needed, lots of safety features. Handled very well in the snow. I am so happy to be back in a Highlander. I will recommend it to my friends.

Pros
Excellent car. Highly recommend it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JAMES H.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/17/2019
Solid wll built vehicle. Rides well. Consumer Reports gives it rave reviews.
Solid wll built vehicle. Rides well. Consumer Reports gives it rave reviews. There are a TON of features on this car. We are still learning about all the features. Both the wife and I hang onto our cars for a long time. Her car is 10 years old...Mine was 17 years old. This car replaces my car that a deer tried to take a bite out of while I was driving down the road. Consumer advocate, Clark Howard says, if you purchase a new car you must expect to hold onto it for at least 10 years to recoup the lost deprecation. We hope to be driving this Highlander for at least another 10-20 years. We thought this over and made the decision. We are very happy with it.

Pros
Solid. Reliable. Stylish. Comfortable.

Cons
Can't think of any...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GS
GALE S.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/15/2019
Just an OK SUV
The only reason we purchased the Highlander over the Honda Pilot, Passport, Mazda CX-9, or the Suburu Ascent was that it was a hybrid car. We took this car on an extended road trip. It handled OK, but the navigation was very primitive, it was unable to direct us to many places AND the navigation cannot recalculate new directions when we miss a turn off or change our destination. The interior console is also a hassle to use. The console is awkward to use and getting to the charging ports is difficult. I was also disappointed that the Limited trim model only came with captain seats for the second row. We really need the second row bench seats and we also really wanted the extra features (like air conditioned front seats), but we had to give up the better features to have the second row bench seats. I do appreciate that the Toyota Highlander is very reliable and we really liked Michaels Toyota of Bellevue because they gave us an additional warranty year.

Pros
The improved mileage we get from the hybrid is great

Cons
The navigation and electronics systems are antiquated and we don't like them much.
The interior console is awkward and difficult to use.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
RONALD B.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/14/2019
This is the absolute best car for ride and esp safety...................NONE BETTER
We can hardly wait to take a trip to fully enjoy this car. The ride is exceptional, comfort amazing, safety is exactly what we need and feel comfortable having our children/grandchildren riding with us. THANK YOU LUDA, THE SALES MGR AND MCCORD VANCOUVER TOYOTA!

Pros
SAFETY ......a must
COMFORT.......a must
RELIABILITY....a must
VALUE....a must

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SL
SANDI L.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2019
Love it!
Since I purchased my highlander I have had tons of compliments.. it's a beautiful car inside and out. Fun to drive also. It can haul myself and 7 of my grandchildren. I plan to take a beach trip soon.

Pros
Eight passengers seating

Cons
Rims are a bit hard to clean

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
WENDY W.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/04/2019
Love it! Surprised at great fuel economy
Nice ride and comfortable. Fuel economy surprised me. It’s great! Only wish the passengers door on drivers side had keyless entry like front door on passenger side of car. Was spoiled by my Lexus. Would buy another!

Pros
Fuel mpg, interior, exterior

Cons
No keyless entry on passenger door on driver side on SE.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
SCOTTY O F.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/01/2019
New Hybrid Highlander
We have owned 3 previous Highlanders and loved them all. This Highlander is our first Hybrid and so far we are loving it! We also traded up and have a lot more options with this vehicle that we are loving too, especially the great jbl sound system and the air-conditioned seats!

Pros
great ride, very good fuel efficiency, very stylish and good looking vehicle, reliable

Cons
the only one I can think of is the usb ports in the front dash are back so far, they are a bit inconvenient to reach

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RN
RONALD N.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/29/2019
Great vehicle
All round excellent vehicle, overall larger than our old 2008 model, more comfort and gadgets!! What more can I say to make up 200 characters we love the vehicle.
Please reduce number of characters in this box

Pros
Love it

Cons
Only wish it had the cargo cover available like that which was in earlier models

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DONALD S.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/27/2019
This SUV sold itself!
Within a few minutes of driving the Toyota Highlander Hybrid SUV I knew it was the car I wanted. It practically sold itself. I was very impressed with the comfort, quite ride and safety features. I am 6'2" and can get in and out quite easily. I like the large display for the back-up camera. The sound system is awesome. We chose the Ooh La La Burgandy color and it looks fantastic. I rated the Value for the Money as a 9 because you can get more value by buying a low-mileage used car, but then you would not get that new car smell.

Pros
Hybrid SUV with AWD. Great looks, comfort, and safety features. Toyota dependability/reliability. McCords Vancouver Toyota has great service, sales and and support staff.

Cons
Can't think of any that would have changed my mind about this purchase.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LY
LYNN Y.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/21/2019
I love my Highlander
I love my Highlander. Made a trip to Huntsville in July. Navigation system performed flawlessly. The other feature I enjoy is the cruise control and the slow down feature. We had a very comfortable trip and did not tire while driving.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
KAYLENE C.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/02/2019
Best car ever
Love love love this vehicle. I used to have a tahoe and made the switch the highlander. Best decision ever. I wish I would have done this sooner. Its better than I could imagine and best deal ever. Toyota fan for life.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
MARIAN A.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/22/2019
Wonderful and safe ride.
I bought a 2017 Highlander Limited and needed to replace it. I bought the same 2019 model because i love it so much. It has intuitive controls and is easy to pick up all that you need to know quickly.

Pros
It is spacious and has a great ride. The electronic features are amazing to me!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
KATHERINE P.
2019 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/22/2019
Toyota Highlander 2019
March 30, 2019 I purchased a Toyota Highlander to my amazement. I don't like cars, pickups only. I had a Toyota Tacoma. When I test drove my Highlander it felt good to my surprise. In May/June I took a 3 week road trip 9 states....4,869 miles.....I LIVE MY HIGHLANDER. I recommend this vehicle highly. Thanks to Mike Austin who helped me.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 34 in total