2008
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(70 Reviews)
Latest review 19 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

AT
ALAN T.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/09/2020
Great SUV
I have owned my 2008 Highlander since 2012. It has been one of the best vehicles I have owned. It has been trouble free and only needed require maintenance. I have used it to tow my utility trailer and it easily tows the trailer and whatever load I put on it. It has been such a great vehicle that I kept it for my daily driver and bought my wife a 2018 Highlander. Both wonderful vehicles.

Pros
Comfortable interior room even for a big man.
Plenty of power
Well designed interior
Back seat folds down giving extra space loading larger items

Cons
19 inch wheels make tires a little more expensive because 19 inch tires are not as much in demand as other common sizes.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Janet H.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/14/2020
Love my Highlander
Dependable like the hieight to get in and out. good ride also style is great. If i get another vehicle it would be anothe Toyota Highlander. I have 120,000.000 miles and so far only got new tires. This vehicle's 4 wheel drive really got me yhrough the snow and is stable on Ice.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
BILLY G.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/09/2020
Our Highlander!
Car has been very dependable! Two minor issues since purchase; steering is not very responsive, and the brake pedal travel is too much before braking starts! Ride is great, gas mileage very good! Very pleased!

Pros
Gas mileage

Cons
Steering, braking

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
Larry B.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/20/2020
2008 Toyota Highlander Limited SUV / Best in it's class for me.
Best, reliable vehicle I've ever owned. It is so quiet, at times I've forgotten to turn it off. The 3.5 V6 will not disappoint. It has instant response when
needed to pass other vehicles. Highway driving is a pleasure especially on long trips. It's a vehicle one looks for a reason to get in and drive.

Pros
Everything about the vehicle is great! It's very quiet on the road and easy
to handle. The back-up mirror is such a great feature. I feel very safe driving.

Cons
Doesn't have the standard parking lights which I find unusual.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BV
BRYCE V.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/19/2020
Awesome family vehicle!
Our Toyota Highlander has done our family so well over the short while we have had it! Excited to see where it takes us. Lots of room for people, Lots of room for storage if needed. That means road trip with family is easy!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BD
BRENDA D.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/19/2020
Dependable vehicle
I like my Toyota Highlander. It’s a very nice vehicle inside and out. I’m surprised that the gas mileage is so efficient. The only thing I don’t like about my Highlander is the road noise. I don’t regret buying it. It’s a very nice vehicle.

Pros
Good gas mileage
Good looking car
Roomy on the inside
Third row seating is great in a pinch

Cons
Road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Ann D.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/13/2020
Toyota Highlander
I bought my 2008 Highlander used. It has never disappointed me in performance or driving. I love it. I have a dependable mechanic shop that has kept it serviced and maintained.
I recommend it also
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
John B.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/10/2020
Almost a great vehicle
Excellent all around vehicle except for leaking sunroof drains - continuous problem that fills floors with water and worst dealer service (Scott Clark Toyota in Charlotte, NC) I've ever experienced in fifty years of buying and owning cars.

Pros
Comfortable, feels like a bigger vehicle

Cons
leaking sunroof drains that fill floors with water & worst dealer service I've ever experienced (Scott Clark Toyota in Matthews, NC)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Roderick C.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/12/2019
Best Vehicle Ever
To start I have 288300 miles on my Highlander. Countless trips to Florida, NewYork, North and South Carolina and Tennessee. Drives great rides great and very dependable with exceptional room both passenger and cargo.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Non

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RO
Richard O.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/08/2019
Should have gotten this vehicle inspected by a reliable third party garage.
I didn't have it inspected by a third party. MY VERY COSTLY ERROR IN JUDGEMENT!! So far, as of the first week in November 2019, I've needed to replace the front-and-rear strut assemblies; front-and-rear suspension stabilizer bar link; automatic transmission fluid drain & refill; timing belt; water pump; cabin filter, and, for good measure, it received a tune-up with a thorough induction cleaning! NOW, all I need to do is to avoid a flat, unrepairable tire. If it MUST BE REPLACED, then I MUST REPLACE ALL FOUR TIRES! Something about AWD vehicles. This is my last AWD vehicle but, mind you, now that it's mostly repaired, I love driving it and my riders frequently mention how comfortable it is. And, yes, for the right price, it could be yours.

Pros
LARGE! Running boards/brush guard added. 24/25mpg.

Cons
24/25mpg. Sits up HIGH--I'm "old" w/arthritic knees! HEAVY GAS FOOT. Cruise control BEGINS at 26-27mph--ENFORCED speed limit is 25mph. 3rd row seat/full bench, NOT SPLIT! Seats "7"! If one tire goes flat and can't be repaired, I MUST REPLACE THEM ALL!! Something about AWD/4WD vehicles--keeping them level--so far, that hasn't happened but with my luck, it will!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PW
PAULETTE W.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/05/2019
The Golden Chariot
I love my Highlander. I set out to buy a different CSUV, but decided to go for this one because there was more space in the back. We bought it used, and even though it had been in an accident, I have no complaints. It's not only a good looking vehicle, it is mechanically sound, roomy, practical, fun to drive, and it actually gets good gas mileage. We have the Sport model, w/ leather seats. We can switch to manual if need be. The turning ratio blows my mind. I've had smaller cars that could not do as well. We can switch to all 4 wheels if were stuck in snow.

Pros
Everything.

Cons
The only thing that concerns me is the timing chain. My mechanic told me they need to be replaced after so many miles on the Highlanders & were looking at a couple of grand. I can delay it by changing my oil more often. So I do.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Ann D.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/30/2019
2008 Toyota Highlander
I have had my Highlander for over 10 years...just passed 100,000 miles...will not buy another vehicle but a Highlander in my lifetime. I love it. I would like to have a newer used one but not many people are trading them in.

Pros
most everything

Cons
I would like to have a indoor/outdoor temp and maybe a backup alarm ...I think these features come in the newer models tho

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
Sheryl H.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/03/2019
Stylish and beastly
It isn't my favorite vehicle I ever owned, but it's like family. It's hard to want to trade in. It is roomy and reliable, attractive but a workhorse on the road. MPG is not great, but it's acceptable. Drive is fine but not fun. 11 years old and holding its own!

Pros
Has great pickup and speed.

Cons
Gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Ann D.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/27/2019
Toyota Highlander
My Highlander is over 10 years and still in good shape mechanical and still looks pretty good also. almost 100,000 miles now and I have it serviced regularly..have had a couple of recalls done at our local Toyota dealer but nothing major and it is still going strong.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JD H.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/10/2019
Highlander 2008
Awesome vehicle. Second to none. We purchased with 88K miles now have 152K. Recall on the oil leak was covered out of warranty. This could have been a disaster is we were Highway but all worked out. No cost to me. Water pump $750 at 140K miles. That’s it. Beautiful car. Awesome stereo. Very comfortable.

Pros
Outstanding vehicle.

Cons
Plugs and water pump are expensive to replace. Better design could help.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
KEITH L.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/24/2019
Toyota Highlander has been an excellent choice for our family.
We purchased our 2008 Highlander Sport AWD new and had all scheduled service done as indicated in the manual. It now has 105 K miles. This model came with cloth seats, which have held up amazingly well and still look brand new! I appreciate having these over leather because they are not cold in the winter nor hot/sicky in the summer. You would never guess that it is 11 years old because it has no loose "jiggling" parts and accelerates easily - it is solid and quiet. We have driven it in the snow several times and it has never slipped nor faltered in any way- we always make it home. Still loving it and would purchase again without hesitation.

Pros
Read my review...so many pros!

Cons
I wish it had a power outlet in the 2nd row seats (has one at the 3rd row); also the radio at the dash control has started malfunctioning when it is cold. Still will work on the steering wheel and all controls function once the car interior warms up.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
Mike M.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/18/2019
I love the Highlander, plan to buy new or newer
The car is wonderful but buy new and not used from Premier auto. I seen a lot of this particular year and model. So that's a good sign that if the car is well taken care of, it may outlast us. Do I hope one day to either be blessed by a dealership or able to trade it in and get a new one. Thank you!!

Pros
Everything but unfortunately I would suggest newer or new! Since I don't know how the new ones do yet I will keep my rating at a 9, thank you!!

Cons
I bought it used from a sad used car lot who I would find out from trusted sources that they burn a lot of bridges buy using business and then not pay his bill, so sad !!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KG
KAYLYNN G.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/08/2019
The best vehicle in the world.
I LOVE my car and I didn’t choose it, my husband did. It’s the most dependable car I’ve ever owned. It’s totally AWESOME IN SNOW, much better than my Jeep Grand Cherokee was), powerful for QUICK freeway acceleration, doesn’t eat brakes (40% left at 142K), corners amazingly for its size, is most comfortable because of its size, and as big as it is, it gets up to 28 MPG on trips. I’d gladly drive one as an advertising car for you. Highlander Hybrid power! There’s nothing like the way they drive and hold the road!

Pros
Everything I mentioned above in the vehicle review. There is nothing like it! Below are all 10 +++

Cons
It did eat tires, and we experimented with them all but now that Michelin makes that size I think I found the answer! I was told long after the fact that there was an issue with the tires that came with it, but that didn’t help me when I chose never to use that tire again! They needed to be replaced at 15K and that size is quite pricey.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CO
CINDY O.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/01/2019
Great car!
I will "wear out" before this Hylander will! There is a ton of room in the back, especially when the back seats are lowered. I had 2 big dogs who have ridden around everywhere in the back - even on long trips. Very very reliable!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RA
RAY A.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/14/2019
2008 champ
My 2008 highlander has 127,000 miles. Other than regular maintainance, i've replaced the water pump and a couple of coil packs. Plan on keeping it till 200,000. Some may complain of no performance, lazy steering and no agility but it is what it is. A people hauler. Its not a coupe performance vehicle. If I want that, i'll take the cover off of my garaged coupe and roll it on Sunday.

Pros
Great reliability.

Cons
Not much to complain about.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 70 in total