2008
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5Overall Rating 4.88/5rating 4.88
4.9
(48 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

PW
Phillip A A W.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/04/2019
2008 Highlander
I now have over 135,000 miles on this car. We've driven all over the United States with it and it is a perfect touring car. Solid feel on the road, and great acceleration. Lots of room and a perfect travel car for four people, but will hold eight if needed.
It is the V6, so gas mileage is not great (17 mpg in town, 22 mpg on the freeway, and above 8,000 ft elevation on straight and level roads it gets 30 mpg - such as in NW New Mexico).

Pros
All wheel drive, acceleration, comfort, roominess,

Cons
Gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JIM M.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/11/2019
great car!
I purchased this vehicle used in August of 2018. We've been very happy with the ride, handling and gas mileage for a suv. Though I didn't get that great of a deal from the dealer where I purchased it, I am confident in knowing this car will last due to the Consumer Reports information and word of mouth positive information that I have gotten. We hope to keep this car for a while.

Pros
Great resale value, fun to drive, comfortable ride, excellent gas mileage

Cons
none.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Ann D.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/03/2018
Toyota Highlander
I love my Toyota Highlander...I will never buy another other Model or make of vehicle. Handles well, drives smooth...very dependable. I have made many long trips and never had a problem... the gas mileage is comparable to other SUVs

Pros
Wheel base

Cons
Would like more options on dash...but my year model does not support those. Later year models do.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
CATHERINE G.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/30/2018
Love my highlander
I really like my highlander. Your company had another I really liked ,but, the salesman said I could not buy that one as he was thinking of buying it. So I went to Bellvue Lexus and bought one there. Very nice

Pros
All pros

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Carol H.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2018
Love my highlander
Roomy, stylish and easy on gas. It’s no dog either. If you need the power this baby will fly. I will only drive a Toyota. They’re dependable and reliable. No other vehicle for me. I’m sure I’ll get over 200,000 miles on my highlander
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ED
EVONNE D.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/07/2018
Awesome!
I want this vehicle to last forever! One of the best features it's a quiet ride - very little road noise. I don't notice any blind spots while driving . The headlights cover a long distance. It is a wonderful SUV.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
SHARON B.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/15/2018
Highly Recommended
This is the best vehicle I’ve owned. It has a four star safety rating and every seat is comfortable. Being the largest compact suv it’s great for kids and easy to maneuver. I highly recommend and would buy again.

Pros
Great ya mileage for an SUV at 24 miles to the gallon.

Cons
Needs a low battery indicator dashboard light. If the battery goes dead while driving you loose power steering and breaks. This is not safe, there needs to be a warning ⚠️ light specifically for the battery.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DAVID H.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/12/2018
2008 Toyota Highlander
I spent more than 40 years in the automobile parts and service business on the national level. I had more that 35 new cars and about 12 used cars during that time. I acquired my 2008 4WD Highlander in 2011. At that time it had approx. 42,000 miles on it. It had been maintained to factory specifications. It now has approximately 123,000 miles on it. Out of all the cars I have had over the last 50 years the 2008 Toyota Highlander is the very best one. All I have done in the last 10 years is routine maintenance on it and it has never failed me.

Pros
Everything works as designed. Nothing has failed in 10 years and 123,000

Cons
I wish the 4 inch screen for the backup camera was as large as it is on the new Highlander.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
CATHERINE G.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/13/2018
Love it
I had an older highlander that was totaled in a very bad accident. I think this saved my life with the built in protection Broke my heart when it was totaled. So happy to find another with everything in it. Perfect vehicle!

Pros
Easy to drive

Cons
A little wider than the last one I had

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
SCOTT S.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/19/2018
Long term satisfaction
My 2008 Highlander has 193000 miles on it. It continues to perform at very satisfying comfort and service levels. I have had minimal performance issues or costs associated with such extensive miles. It is easily capable of several more years of dependable performance in my opinion.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HD
HANS D.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
01/21/2018
Parts start to fail after 60K
Didn't expect Toyota parts breakdown at that Low Mileage.
Commercials are talking about cars running better then 100K miles
without any breakdown. Must have bought a lemon with out my knowledge.
Just like my Odysse at one time.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Carol H.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/07/2017
Great vehicle
Have had mine for 10 years. Great vehicle. Comfortable. Great gas mileage for a 3.5 liter engine 19 city and 24 highway. Love the room and I’ll drive it for another 10 years or longer.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
ANNETTE L.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/01/2017
Our Traveling car
It is our workhorse taking us on 1300 mile trips. comfortable ,good riding car. Our 2 dogs love the room.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CHERYL C.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2017
Best active ever owned.
Reliable and safe wherever and whenever I've driven it.

Pros
What's not to like!

Cons
Haven't had any in 9 years.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
LINDA S.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/17/2017
Good
Love Toyota vehicles

Pros
None

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BW
BRIAN W.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/25/2017
10 year old Highlander
Best rig I've ever owned.

Pros
Quiet, authoritative power to spare; reliable.

Cons
Plastic bumpers break off when I hit something.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
SHIRLEY H.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2017
Highlander
I love my Highlander. It has been a great vehicle. I have never had any trouble with it. It is just the perfect size for anything. I need.

Pros
I like everything about it.

Cons
I really don't have any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Colyn G.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/04/2017
Highlander
Great, reliable, long lasting service
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
SUE P.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/21/2017
?
Love my 2008 Toyota Highlander. I hope to keep it for many more years. With B & C Auto Repair to take care of it, I'm sure I can.

Pros
Love this vehicle.

Cons
No cons

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JOHN T B.
2008 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/25/2017
Love our Highlander
Our Highlander is a 2008. Since purchasing in January of 2008 we have had extremely reliable performance with many road trips as well as general daily trips around town. No breakdowns, no issues! The entertainment system has entertained all our grandkids and we have plenty of cargo space for trips to the coast. We considered trading it in last November but when we had to really process this decision the remaining big question was "why"? There is nothing wrong with our nine year old 2008 Highlander! So we are still enjoying our car that just had its 120,000 mile service!

Cons
The leather seats have stained from sliding in and out (we frequently wear Levi's). The middle of the back seat is not comfortable for longer rides.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 48 in total