2013
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(42 Reviews)
Latest review 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

KM
Kathy M.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/19/2020
Toyota 2013
This is my third Toyota Highlander and I have told my husband Highlanders are the ONLY vehicle I will purchase in the future. They last long and are safe. Reliable and very easy to drive on both long trips or just to the market. They look good and Toyota service cannot be beat.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VP
VALERIE P.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/18/2019
The perfect car if it was more gas efficient
I love everything about this car except the mileage. It runs well, it durable, it hauls, it's comfortable, it has plenty of seating, it's versatile, it has great features, it looks good....but it guzzles gas.

Pros
it's wonderful

Cons
gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JACQUES H.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/04/2019
Great car, no issues for the last 7 years
Very happy with my car, have great mechnical shop that take good care of my Highlander. Very Reliable & easy to drive. Great for traveling with enough space for luggage. 7 passengers seat makes it easy to have family and friends comfortable for traveling.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Javel J.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/25/2019
Excellent vehicle!!!
Most reliable car ever! Have just purchased my second one!! Would like a Lexus, but have found the Highlandeeso reliable, I would not want to try to own any other type of car. So, I will always get Toyota Highlanders!!

Pros
Low maintenance
Smooth ride
Nice design

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MAKSIN S.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
08/08/2019
Decent SUV with its share of troubles
Highlander is considered the best midsize SUV on the market. While there is a lot of positives going for it I found several things that made me decide nit to get another one next. First of all is woeful fuel economy, I drive highwats a lot and it is still often less tha 16mpg - no good, second is terribke brakes that perform very bad is wet weather. Even after I changed tires and rotors the performance is marginally better and it take a mile to stop. Tiny and crappy nav screen really sucks. Oh and the quality of the interior with little things breaking here and there is just final nail in this coffin. Not goid enough Toyota!

Pros
Strong engine
Comfortable
Plenty of space

Cons
Noisy
Fuel hungry
Inferior interior

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LJ
LINDA J.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/04/2019
My Highlander is the BEST!!!
I love this car. It looks good, is very comfortable, and handles like a dream. It is so versatile too. I can use it to carry up to seven people, or lots of cargo like furniture, bikes, luggage, kayaks, or 20 bags of bark for my yard. It is my favorite vehicle ever!!!

Pros
This car is comfortable, has plenty of power for merging onto the freeway, and is fun to drive.

Cons
I would like a better back-up camera. This one is too dark, especially in bright sunlight.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RN
REZA N.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/18/2019
My 2013 Highlander
This vehicle currently has over 100K miles. I drive it everywhere and often. It still drives like new and cost little to maintain. It is very reliable and has the room I need to carry everything. Great job Toyota!!

Pros
Very reliable vehicle and does what has been designed for

Cons
Not as pretty as you would think but for what I paid for it when new, I don't have an issue with it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
MARSHALL R.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/13/2019
A fan of Toyota Highlanders
As of now, we have previously owned 2 Highlanders (2007, 2013); presently we own 2 more Highlanders (2013, 2016). I have never been more pleased with the safety, reliability, performance, and quality I see with these vehicles! The 2007 Highlander, our first, is presently owned by our daughter and son-in-law--it has well over 200,000 miles, and is "running like a top". My wife and her mother were "rear-ended" on a highway...an accident that "totaled" the vehicle, yet both women came out of that accident with minimal injuries. The two we are presently driving are both quite fun to drive...I don't think I will drive anything else!

Pros
I see nothing but "Pros" with this vehicle

Cons
NONE!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HB
HOLLY B.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/24/2019
Complete package
We've owned our vehicle for 6 years so far an plan on keeping it for many many years to come. It has been wonderful to drive. We picked it for its superior safety rating and truly enjoy the flexibility it provides our growing family with the 3rd row seating. Very dependable. Great value for the vehicle, it's exactly what our family needed dependability, functional, safety and style. My only complaint would be the limited trunk space while using the third row, I wish it was a few inches deeper. Other than that we have been very happy with our highlander. Excellent family vehicle!

Pros
Safety
Quality
Dependability
Performance
Style

Cons
Small trunk space while using 3rd row seating

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DOUGLAS B.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/06/2019
A great suv
It’s a great suv....I’ve had 2 jeeps, a Lexus and mountaineer and this is the best suv I’ve had...I’ve put a lot of miles on it and it has performed great...I drive a lot in winter conditions and feel very confident in how it handles in tough conditions. I would like the sun roof to be larger for summer driving. Not many complaints.:....

Pros
Affordable. Great value

Cons
Vanilla styling.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
GREG R.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/28/2019
Best cold weather vehicle
Comfort to the max!!! Cold weather package here in the snow is a definite+++! I have driven this vehicle all over the US/Canada. i have been in some very severs storms & the 4WD (on demand) works so well it is scary! You need to let the vehicle do what it was designed to do!!! Hard for me with to do with three 56 Chevrolets!@!! Ice! Snow. Rain it is a dream!!!

Pros
everything! Cold weather package is magic here in Payson, AZ & other places I have travelled. Pouring Rain so hard @ Niagara Falls I could not get out of her! But she got me out of there with confidence!!!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Ron R.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/08/2019
Highlander Review
We like the Highlander and look to buy another. The reliability has been great. The car's appearance is good.The gas mileage is at 18 mph, over all. This is too low. The addition of a frt camera so that you can see the bumper would be good.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JOHN WESLEY C.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/29/2018
2013 Highlander
We bought this vehicle new and have been extremely happy with it ever since. It has over 120k miles on it so we drive it several hundred miles a year. Gas mileage is about 25 highway in the summer and about 20 in the cold months and we live in WA state so winters are chilly. Handles very well in snow and on ice. This is our second Highlander and we will look at one if we buy another vehicle. It is roomy and comfortable. Lots of storage in back area. Do not use the 3rd row seats. Have used it once but it is very hard to access and only big enough for a child who is not in a booster seat. Seats 4 adults adequately in this car.

Pros
Dependable, pretty good value, nice looking, decent gas mileage.

Cons
Third row seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
GEOFFREY C.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/20/2018
My review.
Great vehicle. Meets my needs. Very reliable. Might even update. The high rear deck is useful for transporting our salukis when needed, as they are fairly tall dogs. Have not had any problems with it.

Pros
See my summary about.

Cons
Might be a shade quieter.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
LINDA M.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/06/2018
Toyota Highlander is great car
I have two Toyota Highlanders and they are both 2013 models. I really like the size of the car and the dependability. If you take care of these cars you can keep a long time. I don't like the new body style after 2013 so I wish Toyota would go back to what worked for years. The new models(2014-etc) look like every other SUV of that size. The arm rest box between the front seats is slanted in the newer Highlanders instead of the square one which I love in my 2013. For years the Highlander looked the same and people bought them. Go back to the 2013 model and I will be happy to buy another Highlander.

Pros
Love the 2013 model as I have good visibility.

Cons
2014 & newer models are too enclosed for me. Slanted arm rest box in between seats. Smaller back window. Not as much visibility as previous models.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
LYNN B.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/27/2018
2013 Highlander Hybrid
This is the best SUV that Ive owned out of 4 other brands. The comfort and ride is excellent. The mpg for a heavy SUV has averaged 24.5, which is 10 mpg more than my past Ford Explorer and Chevy Tahoe

Pros
Size, comfort, handling and superior MPG.

Cons
Size of fuel tank

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Cynthia J.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/21/2018
I would not buy any other car!
This is my second Highlander and I love it. I rolled the 1st one, hit 3 barricades, and only sprained my thumb on the steering wheel. The safety factor is so important these days. And I have 3 rows of seats for when the kids need a ride somewhere. And the seats fold down when I need to fill it up with stuff. The fold down feature from the back is wonderful.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Lana C.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/25/2018
Toyota Highlander
This is the second Toyota Highlander we have owned. Excellent reliability! Regular maintenance is all we have had to do to the Highlander! Consumer Reports subscribers have reported that they easily will go 200,000 miles when maintained.

Pros
Reliability!!!!

Cons
Third row seat tends to be a little tight and really only comfortable for children.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Judith D.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/23/2017
My Toyota highlander
I have had very good luck with this vehicle so far...
Unlike the crappy service at rte 44 Toyota,
Tophams is the best, that’s why I go here..
Thanks tophams

Pros
Preformance, reliability, great vehicle

Cons
Not happy with Toyota dealership. Rte 44

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KEN S.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/08/2017
A great car
Top quality. Reliable. Great storage. Good performance. Very good road car. Good looking.

Pros
A superb vehicle. Toyota thinks of just about everything. Comfortable. Great road car. Outstanding storage. Top quality.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 42 in total