2013
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5

30 Reviews

Latest review 22 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JC
JOHN WESLEY C.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/29/2018
2013 Highlander
We bought this vehicle new and have been extremely happy with it ever since. It has over 120k miles on it so we drive it several hundred miles a year. Gas mileage is about 25 highway in the summer and about 20 in the cold months and we live in WA state so winters are chilly. Handles very well in snow and on ice. This is our second Highlander and we will look at one if we buy another vehicle. It is roomy and comfortable. Lots of storage in back area. Do not use the 3rd row seats. Have used it once but it is very hard to access and only big enough for a child who is not in a booster seat. Seats 4 adults adequately in this car.

Pros
Dependable, pretty good value, nice looking, decent gas mileage.

Cons
Third row seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
GEOFFREY C.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2018
My review.
Great vehicle. Meets my needs. Very reliable. Might even update. The high rear deck is useful for transporting our salukis when needed, as they are fairly tall dogs. Have not had any problems with it.

Pros
See my summary about.

Cons
Might be a shade quieter.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
LINDA M.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/06/2018
Toyota Highlander is great car
I have two Toyota Highlanders and they are both 2013 models. I really like the size of the car and the dependability. If you take care of these cars you can keep a long time. I don't like the new body style after 2013 so I wish Toyota would go back to what worked for years. The new models(2014-etc) look like every other SUV of that size. The arm rest box between the front seats is slanted in the newer Highlanders instead of the square one which I love in my 2013. For years the Highlander looked the same and people bought them. Go back to the 2013 model and I will be happy to buy another Highlander.

Pros
Love the 2013 model as I have good visibility.

Cons
2014 & newer models are too enclosed for me. Slanted arm rest box in between seats. Smaller back window. Not as much visibility as previous models.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
LYNN B.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/27/2018
2013 Highlander Hybrid
This is the best SUV that Ive owned out of 4 other brands. The comfort and ride is excellent. The mpg for a heavy SUV has averaged 24.5, which is 10 mpg more than my past Ford Explorer and Chevy Tahoe

Pros
Size, comfort, handling and superior MPG.

Cons
Size of fuel tank

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Cynthia J.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/21/2018
I would not buy any other car!
This is my second Highlander and I love it. I rolled the 1st one, hit 3 barricades, and only sprained my thumb on the steering wheel. The safety factor is so important these days. And I have 3 rows of seats for when the kids need a ride somewhere. And the seats fold down when I need to fill it up with stuff. The fold down feature from the back is wonderful.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Lana C.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/25/2018
Toyota Highlander
This is the second Toyota Highlander we have owned. Excellent reliability! Regular maintenance is all we have had to do to the Highlander! Consumer Reports subscribers have reported that they easily will go 200,000 miles when maintained.

Pros
Reliability!!!!

Cons
Third row seat tends to be a little tight and really only comfortable for children.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Judith D.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/23/2017
My Toyota highlander
I have had very good luck with this vehicle so far...
Unlike the crappy service at rte 44 Toyota,
Tophams is the best, that’s why I go here..
Thanks tophams

Pros
Preformance, reliability, great vehicle

Cons
Not happy with Toyota dealership. Rte 44

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KEN S.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2017
A great car
Top quality. Reliable. Great storage. Good performance. Very good road car. Good looking.

Pros
A superb vehicle. Toyota thinks of just about everything. Comfortable. Great road car. Outstanding storage. Top quality.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MAMADOU B.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/25/2017
5
Excellent

Pros
Excellent

Cons
N A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
SHANON G.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/06/2017
2014 Highlander
I purchased my demo vehicle new from the dealer with a few miles on it. I have back issues and the seating has been very comfortable. I've had no issues other than normal maintenance. I drive a lot and have just over 74,000 miles so it's been put to the test. It also proved very safe when I was rear ended by a Doudge Ram going around 50 miles per hour. All safety features responded correctly and the major force of the impact was absorbed as expected. I love the interior space. Backseat is roomy for tall people. Third seat is for kids only. Overall interior quality is very good. I've driven Mercedes for many years so I'm very spoiled to "that ride" and I was pleasantly surprised how nice this car rode on long trips.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
AURORA R.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/05/2017
My Highlander
Good pick up, few repairs, very comfortable. Still love the way it drives. Hope to have it for many more years to come. Expected better mileage per gallon.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
LILLIAN R.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/15/2017
2013 Highlander
We have been exceptionally pleased with our Highlander. We are "snowbirds" and drive the car to Arizona each year. While in Arizona we are also very pleased with the car -gas mileage is above what they say the "average" would be. We take the car in for servicing on a timely basis as required. Should we have any questions regarding service while we are in Arizona we are comfortable to seek advice from our knowledgeable contact at Foothills Toyota. We have been pleased with the minor service done at Alexander Toyota in Yuma Arizona. Our Highlander is truly "a keeper."
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JOHN WESLEY C.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/12/2017
Super vehicle
This is a great car. We had owned a 2009 Highlander and it was great also. The mileage is about 27 in summer and 24 in winter. We put lots of miles on our cars every year, above 20K so our vehicles get a lot of road miles on them. This car rides nice and is comfortable. We have never had a maintenance issue with this car and it has nearly 85K miles on it now. We bought it new. Yes, we would buy this car again.

Pros
Handles great, looks good, lots of room for cargo, easy to get into and out of.

Cons
No electronics jacks in the second seat area, steering wheel heat not an option, 3rd row seating not easy to get into. Should have left it out as an option.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
GALEN L B.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/08/2017
Dependable vehicle
My 2013 Toyota Highlander has 40,000 miles and has not had any repairs since I bought it new. Routine maintenance is all I have had done.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DAWN C.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/29/2017
Dawn Cameron's Highlander
I have had my 2013 Toyota Highlander for almost four years; it's a great card! I Love my Toyota Highlander!

Pros
leg room front seat and back seat

Cons
I wish it had a charging unit for the back seat;

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
SHERAL S.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/09/2017
Best car I have ever owned!
I love my Highlander! It has everything I need and some things I don't probably too. Love the sear warmers! Used the snow button this year and had no problem driving in the snow. It is very comfortable and handles well. Just the right size for me.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
RONALD D.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/08/2016
owner
the perfect vehicle

Pros
easy to drive and reliable in snow and ice, its AWD

Cons
rattles in back

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JOHN C.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/25/2016
Love this car!
This is our second Highlander. They are great riding vehicles. We have had low or no maintenance on either one and we put a lot of miles on our cars. We average about 23K per year. Gas mileage is on average about 25mpg. There is plenty of room in each seat unless you use the 3rd row seat. That only allows for small children and is not easy to get them into or out of. Don't recommend using that seat at all. There is plenty of room for packing your family outing or grocery items. The car handles very well. Can come with enough gadgets for most people needing those things and maybe too many for those who just want a plain cockpit area. Was thinking of getting our 3rd Highlander but don't like the body style this year so will wait to see what next year brings or just keep this one till it gives up the ghost which should be several years if it keeps going like it has.

Pros
Good gas mileage for size of car. Comfort and ride are great. Easy to drive all day. Has lots of power on the road. Plenty of storage both up front and in rear. Plenty of leg room in front seats. Leg room is good in back seat for young children and pre-teens, but not too uncomfortable for adults for short trips. Love these cars!

Cons
Rear seats front to back length is too short for adults on a long drive but OK for about town. Don't get the car with the large tires as the ride is not as comfortable. Don't use the 3rd row seat as there is no room in that area. There really doesn't seem to be too many cons about this vehicle.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JZ
James Z.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2016
Toyota Highlander 2913
Great SUV . Runs smooth & comfortable

Pros
Runs smooth

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
PAMELA C.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2016
2913 Highlander
I love my car. It is the best Grandma car I could have. There is plenty of room and the DVD player is the best babysitter to have during our travels.10
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 30 in total