2013
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(36 Reviews)
Latest review 6 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RN
REZA N.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/18/2019
My 2013 Highlander
This vehicle currently has over 100K miles. I drive it everywhere and often. It still drives like new and cost little to maintain. It is very reliable and has the room I need to carry everything. Great job Toyota!!

Pros
Very reliable vehicle and does what has been designed for

Cons
Not as pretty as you would think but for what I paid for it when new, I don't have an issue with it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
MARSHALL R.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/13/2019
A fan of Toyota Highlanders
As of now, we have previously owned 2 Highlanders (2007, 2013); presently we own 2 more Highlanders (2013, 2016). I have never been more pleased with the safety, reliability, performance, and quality I see with these vehicles! The 2007 Highlander, our first, is presently owned by our daughter and son-in-law--it has well over 200,000 miles, and is "running like a top". My wife and her mother were "rear-ended" on a highway...an accident that "totaled" the vehicle, yet both women came out of that accident with minimal injuries. The two we are presently driving are both quite fun to drive...I don't think I will drive anything else!

Pros
I see nothing but "Pros" with this vehicle

Cons
NONE!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HB
HOLLY B.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/24/2019
Complete package
We've owned our vehicle for 6 years so far an plan on keeping it for many many years to come. It has been wonderful to drive. We picked it for its superior safety rating and truly enjoy the flexibility it provides our growing family with the 3rd row seating. Very dependable. Great value for the vehicle, it's exactly what our family needed dependability, functional, safety and style. My only complaint would be the limited trunk space while using the third row, I wish it was a few inches deeper. Other than that we have been very happy with our highlander. Excellent family vehicle!

Pros
Safety
Quality
Dependability
Performance
Style

Cons
Small trunk space while using 3rd row seating

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DOUGLAS B.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/06/2019
A great suv
It’s a great suv....I’ve had 2 jeeps, a Lexus and mountaineer and this is the best suv I’ve had...I’ve put a lot of miles on it and it has performed great...I drive a lot in winter conditions and feel very confident in how it handles in tough conditions. I would like the sun roof to be larger for summer driving. Not many complaints.:....

Pros
Affordable. Great value

Cons
Vanilla styling.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
GREG R.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/28/2019
Best cold weather vehicle
Comfort to the max!!! Cold weather package here in the snow is a definite+++! I have driven this vehicle all over the US/Canada. i have been in some very severs storms & the 4WD (on demand) works so well it is scary! You need to let the vehicle do what it was designed to do!!! Hard for me with to do with three 56 Chevrolets!@!! Ice! Snow. Rain it is a dream!!!

Pros
everything! Cold weather package is magic here in Payson, AZ & other places I have travelled. Pouring Rain so hard @ Niagara Falls I could not get out of her! But she got me out of there with confidence!!!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Ron R.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/08/2019
Highlander Review
We like the Highlander and look to buy another. The reliability has been great. The car's appearance is good.The gas mileage is at 18 mph, over all. This is too low. The addition of a frt camera so that you can see the bumper would be good.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JOHN WESLEY C.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/29/2018
2013 Highlander
We bought this vehicle new and have been extremely happy with it ever since. It has over 120k miles on it so we drive it several hundred miles a year. Gas mileage is about 25 highway in the summer and about 20 in the cold months and we live in WA state so winters are chilly. Handles very well in snow and on ice. This is our second Highlander and we will look at one if we buy another vehicle. It is roomy and comfortable. Lots of storage in back area. Do not use the 3rd row seats. Have used it once but it is very hard to access and only big enough for a child who is not in a booster seat. Seats 4 adults adequately in this car.

Pros
Dependable, pretty good value, nice looking, decent gas mileage.

Cons
Third row seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
GEOFFREY C.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2018
My review.
Great vehicle. Meets my needs. Very reliable. Might even update. The high rear deck is useful for transporting our salukis when needed, as they are fairly tall dogs. Have not had any problems with it.

Pros
See my summary about.

Cons
Might be a shade quieter.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
LINDA M.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/06/2018
Toyota Highlander is great car
I have two Toyota Highlanders and they are both 2013 models. I really like the size of the car and the dependability. If you take care of these cars you can keep a long time. I don't like the new body style after 2013 so I wish Toyota would go back to what worked for years. The new models(2014-etc) look like every other SUV of that size. The arm rest box between the front seats is slanted in the newer Highlanders instead of the square one which I love in my 2013. For years the Highlander looked the same and people bought them. Go back to the 2013 model and I will be happy to buy another Highlander.

Pros
Love the 2013 model as I have good visibility.

Cons
2014 & newer models are too enclosed for me. Slanted arm rest box in between seats. Smaller back window. Not as much visibility as previous models.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LB
LYNN B.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/27/2018
2013 Highlander Hybrid
This is the best SUV that Ive owned out of 4 other brands. The comfort and ride is excellent. The mpg for a heavy SUV has averaged 24.5, which is 10 mpg more than my past Ford Explorer and Chevy Tahoe

Pros
Size, comfort, handling and superior MPG.

Cons
Size of fuel tank

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CJ
Cynthia J.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/21/2018
I would not buy any other car!
This is my second Highlander and I love it. I rolled the 1st one, hit 3 barricades, and only sprained my thumb on the steering wheel. The safety factor is so important these days. And I have 3 rows of seats for when the kids need a ride somewhere. And the seats fold down when I need to fill it up with stuff. The fold down feature from the back is wonderful.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Lana C.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/25/2018
Toyota Highlander
This is the second Toyota Highlander we have owned. Excellent reliability! Regular maintenance is all we have had to do to the Highlander! Consumer Reports subscribers have reported that they easily will go 200,000 miles when maintained.

Pros
Reliability!!!!

Cons
Third row seat tends to be a little tight and really only comfortable for children.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Judith D.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/23/2017
My Toyota highlander
I have had very good luck with this vehicle so far...
Unlike the crappy service at rte 44 Toyota,
Tophams is the best, that’s why I go here..
Thanks tophams

Pros
Preformance, reliability, great vehicle

Cons
Not happy with Toyota dealership. Rte 44

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KEN S.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2017
A great car
Top quality. Reliable. Great storage. Good performance. Very good road car. Good looking.

Pros
A superb vehicle. Toyota thinks of just about everything. Comfortable. Great road car. Outstanding storage. Top quality.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MAMADOU B.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/25/2017
5
Excellent

Pros
Excellent

Cons
N A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SG
SHANON G.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/06/2017
2014 Highlander
I purchased my demo vehicle new from the dealer with a few miles on it. I have back issues and the seating has been very comfortable. I've had no issues other than normal maintenance. I drive a lot and have just over 74,000 miles so it's been put to the test. It also proved very safe when I was rear ended by a Doudge Ram going around 50 miles per hour. All safety features responded correctly and the major force of the impact was absorbed as expected. I love the interior space. Backseat is roomy for tall people. Third seat is for kids only. Overall interior quality is very good. I've driven Mercedes for many years so I'm very spoiled to "that ride" and I was pleasantly surprised how nice this car rode on long trips.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
AURORA R.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/05/2017
My Highlander
Good pick up, few repairs, very comfortable. Still love the way it drives. Hope to have it for many more years to come. Expected better mileage per gallon.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LR
LILLIAN R.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/15/2017
2013 Highlander
We have been exceptionally pleased with our Highlander. We are "snowbirds" and drive the car to Arizona each year. While in Arizona we are also very pleased with the car -gas mileage is above what they say the "average" would be. We take the car in for servicing on a timely basis as required. Should we have any questions regarding service while we are in Arizona we are comfortable to seek advice from our knowledgeable contact at Foothills Toyota. We have been pleased with the minor service done at Alexander Toyota in Yuma Arizona. Our Highlander is truly "a keeper."
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JOHN WESLEY C.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/12/2017
Super vehicle
This is a great car. We had owned a 2009 Highlander and it was great also. The mileage is about 27 in summer and 24 in winter. We put lots of miles on our cars every year, above 20K so our vehicles get a lot of road miles on them. This car rides nice and is comfortable. We have never had a maintenance issue with this car and it has nearly 85K miles on it now. We bought it new. Yes, we would buy this car again.

Pros
Handles great, looks good, lots of room for cargo, easy to get into and out of.

Cons
No electronics jacks in the second seat area, steering wheel heat not an option, 3rd row seating not easy to get into. Should have left it out as an option.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
GALEN L B.
2013 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/08/2017
Dependable vehicle
My 2013 Toyota Highlander has 40,000 miles and has not had any repairs since I bought it new. Routine maintenance is all I have had done.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 36 in total