2016
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5Overall Rating 4.81/5rating 4.81

73 Reviews

Latest review 9 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JG
JONATHAN G.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/09/2018
High Honors for the Highlander
We leased our Highlander for just over 2 years and could not be happier with the vehicle. Everything is wonderful: The seating, the carrying capacity, the interior finishes, the creature comforts, the ergonomics and the beautiful exterior finish.

Pros
The looks
The reliability
The comfort

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
ELLIOTT S.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2018
2016 Toyota Highlander
My Highlander is a great ride. Very comfortable and safe. I like the heated or air-conditioned front seats. The third-row seating has been very useful. 12 V outlet between the front bucket seats is great.

Pros
for 2016 Toyota included many safety features.

Cons
Toyota did not give a 24/7 always ON USB port. Did not give a forward proximity sensor.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
KEVIN W.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2018
Love it.
Fit our needs perfectly and it was affordable. We got a certified pre owned with every bell and whistle we were looking for and some we didn’t even know we wanted. Fits our family and it more economical that the Yukon we were previously driving.

Pros
The features are awesome and it’s very comfortable.

Cons
None yet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
PETER B.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2018
Reliable and Luxuruous ride
The 2016 Highlander Limited is a great value and in the first 25000 miles the service is free. I’ve elected to add a few additional oil changes but as you might imagine, there were zero issues with the vehicle. My last Toyota, an Avalon performed flawlessly for nearly 200,000 miles before I moved to the Highlander.

The fuel economy of the Highlander is 20.2 average with as much highway mileage as possible. The performance is strong with the old 3.5 V6 and six speed automatic transmission. A few more gears now available with the 2017 would be appreciated.

The sound system is quite good although lacking the spacial characteristics of a sedan. The subwoofer in the rear hatch does vibrate at certain resonant frequencies.

The third row seat is a tad compact but with all the seats down—you can haul a lot of material from the local hardware store.

Navigation is great as is the satellite radio. Cooled seats are awesome but a bit noisy.

The seating comfort is almost European luxury brand comfortable.

The vehicle will tow with great ability up to the 5000 pound limit if you’re going short distances but I would not take it to the mountains.

Ride quality is top lucurt level and noise from
The road, wind and engine is very subdued.

The attention to detail is apparent and the only obvious oversight was the lack of gas cylinders on the hood. Hardly anything compares at $43000

Pros
Reliability and build quality

Cons
Surging acceleration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
STEVE H.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/16/2018
2016 Toyota Highlander Limited
I bought mu Highlander in April, 2016. I wanted a vehicle in which I could transport my 5 grandchildren and of the vehicles I test drove I felt the Highlander was the best choice. The Highlander is very comfortable, little road noise and has lots of cargo space. We enjoy taking it out for road trips and would highly recommend it.

Pros
Highlander is easy to handle, looks nice and I really like the heated and air-conditioned seats.

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
KENNETH R.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/03/2018
Love this car.
Smooth and plenty of power. A very nice ride with plenty of room.every other manufacturer trys to copy it. Good in the snow. Comfortable on long trips. So much room and if you need to you can get eight riders.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JONATHAN G.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/30/2018
Highlander gets High marks!
We could not be more pleased with our Highlander. The ride, the roominess, the comfort, the power... all outstanding. Add to this Toyota Care and what more can we say other than the Highlander is an excellent vehicle.

Pros
Not much more to say other than we are very happy with the vehicle.

Cons
Of course, like everything else, wish it was a little less expensive and the gas mileage isn't the greatest.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
GREGORY H.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/13/2018
Highlander Platinum Review
We have two 2016 Highlanders, one a Limited and the other a Platinum. They are our eighth and ninth Toyotas. We purchased the 2016 Limited as. Trade-in for our 2010 Highlander Limited with over 100,000 miles. After taking the 2016 Limited on a 2,200 mile road trip, I traded my 2013 Avalaon Limited In for the 2016 Platinum.

We have thoroughly enjoyed each of our Toyotas. They are classy, comfortable, reliable and fun to drive. The 2016 Highlanders especially so.

Pros
Top to bottom, front to back just outstanding.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
NATHAN M.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/10/2018
Best Vehicle on the road
My 2016 Highlander is the best vehicle I have ever driven. In every sense of excellence, the Highlander scores very high. It drives well in all weather and terrain. The warning system to alert you about other cars or people within your " space" is excellent and a very fine safety device. It's fun to drive.

Pros
Superb

Cons
Do not have any at this time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HC
HOLLY C.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/29/2017
Smooth ride, does well in snow.
I bought a slightly used Highlander. It is performing pretty well, handling the current snow and slush well. The interior was immaculate and wasn't infused with that horrible new car smell or smelly deodorizers or air "fresheners". Pleasant experience.

Pros
Stylish, drives smoothly.

Cons
Would like larger cargo area.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MICHAEL H.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/22/2017
2016 highlander
We love this ride!

Cons
Tires expensive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
KATHRYN D.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/20/2017
Love my Highlander
I love my highlander for the comfort and ease when driving. It makes driving relaxing rather than stressful. I look forward to road trips where i can enjoy all the bells and whistles on my Highlander. It also does great in snow and slick conditions. The anti lock breaks mean no fish tailing. The only reason i didn't give it 5 stars is the somewhat low gas mileage and the factory tires did not last much beyond 20,000 miles. Even with that, my next vehicle will definitely be a highlander.

Pros
Comfort, fun to drive, good in snow, appearance, extra features

Cons
Gas mileage and factory tires

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
GREGORY H.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/07/2017
Highlander
We are on our ninth Toyota. We had a 2010 Highlander and were so pleased we purchased two 2016 Highlanders, one a Platnum and the other a Limited.

Both are amazing to drive and to ride in. We get regular complements on the look and the ride.

Pros
Overall looks, driveability, comfort and reliability. Just a fantastic vehicle.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ET
EVELYN T.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/19/2017
Tondreau's Toyota 2016 Highlander
I have been very pleased with our purchase of the 2016 Toyota Highlander.

Pros
It rides smoothly & is quite. I like the touch screen especially with reading text & emails. The wide shelf that spans the lower half of the dash is great as well as the deep center console for storing" stuff".

Cons
Would have bought the next model up that had new driver-assistance features like the pre-collision warning, blind-spot warning, lane-departure warning, and rear cross-traffic alert but it only came with rear bucket seats vs a bench seat. I would like those features. Also the Trunk cover I had added does not cover the entire open back space. There is a gap behind the rear seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NZ
NANCY Z.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/16/2017
The Highlander
I love the Highlander and am happy with it. It is very comfortable and spacious.

Pros
Comfortable to drive. Feels safe. Roomy back seat. Big trunk space.

Cons
Not great on gas.
Dark interior hard to keep clean.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PO
PAT O.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/16/2017
My 2016 Highlander
Traded up from a 2014 Honda CR-V. The CR-V is a fine car, but I found myself looking for a vehicle with more passenger and cargo space as well as a stronger engine to handle travel with 4 adults. The Highlander does all of that. It is a pleasure to drive, quiet, responsive and holds the road in all conditions. Plus Toyota reliability.

Pros
Comfort performance passenger and cargo space.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JK
JOSEPH K.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/14/2017
Most comfortable ride of any SUV
The Highlander is the best SUV I've owned. The ride is smooth and quiet. Steering tracks very well. Plenty of power. The only negative is that the side mirrors are mounted high and actually make for some obstructed vision when initiating left or right turns. If they were mounted 4" lower it would be perfect. I hope Toyota changes that only drawback.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JAY G.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/12/2017
Toyota higlander
Excellent Suv,very reliable ,very safe vehicle , plenty of room for a 3 row suv..

Pros
Reliable ,very safe car.

Cons
Gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
ELLIOTT S.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/12/2017
Unbelivable comfort/safety
My 2016 is a great vehicle for everyone. Heavy and durable. Very comfortable with captains seating. Electronics abound. great airconditioning and sound system.

Pros
Extremely easy to drive

Cons
NO front sensors

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
RODNEY T.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/01/2017
Wonderful car
We love ❤️ our Highlander it's very comfortable easy to drive holds the road very well in n winter. We just love it

Pros
It's all good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 73 in total