Style image original

2016
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5Overall Rating 4.79/5rating 4.79

60 Reviews

Latest review 9 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 12/07/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Highlander "

We are on our ninth Toyota. We had a 2010 Highlander and were so pleased we purchased two 2016 Highlanders, one a Platnum and the other a Limited. Both are amazing to drive and to ride in. We get regular complements on the look and the ride.

Pros
Overall looks, driveability, comfort and reliability. Just a fantastic vehicle.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/19/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Tondreau's Toyota 2016 Highlander"

I have been very pleased with our purchase of the 2016 Toyota Highlander.

Pros
It rides smoothly & is quite. I like the touch screen especially with reading text & emails. The wide shelf that spans the lower half of the dash is great as well as the deep center console for storing" stuff".

Cons
Would have bought the next model up that had new driver-assistance features like the pre-collision warning, blind-spot warning, lane-departure warning, and rear cross-traffic alert but it only came with rear bucket seats vs a bench seat. I would like those features. Also the Trunk cover I had added does not cover the entire open back space. There is a gap behind the rear seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/16/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"The Highlander"

I love the Highlander and am happy with it. It is very comfortable and spacious.

Pros
Comfortable to drive. Feels safe. Roomy back seat. Big trunk space.

Cons
Not great on gas. Dark interior hard to keep clean.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/16/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My 2016 Highlander"

Traded up from a 2014 Honda CR-V. The CR-V is a fine car, but I found myself looking for a vehicle with more passenger and cargo space as well as a stronger engine to handle travel with 4 adults. The Highlander does all of that. It is a pleasure to drive, quiet, responsive and holds the road in all conditions. Plus Toyota reliability.

Pros
Comfort performance passenger and cargo space.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/14/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Most comfortable ride of any SUV"

The Highlander is the best SUV I've owned. The ride is smooth and quiet. Steering tracks very well. Plenty of power. The only negative is that the side mirrors are mounted high and actually make for some obstructed vision when initiating left or right turns. If they were mounted 4" lower it would be perfect. I hope Toyota changes that only drawback.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/12/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Toyota higlander"

Excellent Suv,very reliable ,very safe vehicle , plenty of room for a 3 row suv..

Pros
Reliable ,very safe car.

Cons
Gas mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/12/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Unbelivable comfort/safety"

My 2016 is a great vehicle for everyone. Heavy and durable. Very comfortable with captains seating. Electronics abound. great airconditioning and sound system.

Pros
Extremely easy to drive

Cons
NO front sensors

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/01/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Wonderful car "

We love ❤️ our Highlander it's very comfortable easy to drive holds the road very well in n winter. We just love it

Pros
It's all good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/20/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"love it!"

Love it!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/12/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Safe vehicle "

Enjoy driving n feel very safe in my car.

Pros
Comfortable, classy n carries lots of stuff including huge dog carrier.

Cons
Sun shines on the screen so it's difficult to see radio, backing up screen, n other info. Certain times the sun shines and reflects on the screen blinding driver only. Scary experience and should be reconfigured.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/10/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Highlander"

As usual excellent quality Toyota vehicle!

Pros
Nearly everything!

Cons
If passenger seat has sensor for Airbag system, why can't the navigation system sense a passenger and allow full access of all navigation functions.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/11/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Not sure what you want. "

The second row bench seat, great. THREE PEOPLE CAN SIT REASONABLY COMFORTABLE. Handy for all of our gear when traveling

Cons
Front seat console too large. I have large purses that do not fit in side. I liked the design of the 2011 Sienna. With it I could put my large purses on the floor in front of the console. I'm 5 foot tall Have seat up as far as it will go but outside Rearview mirror does partially block my vision, I talked with the service people but they could offer me no solution, I have to stretch my neck to make sure area is clear and be very careful.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/27/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Highlander"

Only have 2500 miles on it bit so far so good

Pros
Rides nice

Cons
Hoping for better gas mileage as it gets broke in

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/23/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0rating 0
"Great value "

Great ride with comfort to spare. Love the driving position and easy to reach controls.

Pros
What's not to like. Maybe mpg but that's all.

Cons
Would like at least 24 mph all the time on trips, but usually in the 22-23 range but guess that is ok

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/04/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
"Auto review"

The information is all below.

Pros
Love the ride and handling. Interiorr is great

Cons
Don't like the instrumentation. Doesn't have a digital readout of speed handy.Doesn't have a compass readout handy Has some strange readouts that I do not understand. And i am an engineer. The instrumentation looks like it was engineered by an amateur. I am very upset about that.also don't care for the auto windshield wipers. I would rather have the intermittent ones.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/14/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Car"

You get what you pay for.

Pros
Great car

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/08/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best of the best"

Toyota number 10 by far sets the standard.

Pros
Comfort

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/10/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My 2016 Highlander is so comfortable and quiet, the two main reasons I went with the car brand - Toyota and this model, Highlander, plus I like the name."

I am 1,000 miles into the car and so far so good, the 2016 Highlander handles like a sedan, it runs so quiet and is very comfortable to drive. I do wish it had more power and got better mileage, maybe one day soon. I had the same SUV, 2011 and it was so good I upgraded.

Pros
It looks like a sports car and drives like one but is a SUV.

Cons
Needs to have more power - better mileage and easier access to USB ports and accessories.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/30/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Fantastic vehicle! "

This is the second Highlander Limited I've owned and wouldn't hesitate to buy another.

Pros
Great interior capacity and very good gas mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/15/2016
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Happy car owner!"

I have driven a Toyota for forty years having owned ten! I have always had confidence in each vehicle whether it was a Tacoma, Tundra, Camry, or Highlander. This new Highlander has all the safety a senior driver should have to be safe not only for himself but others on the road.

Pros
Easy to drive!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 60 in total