2016
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.86/5Overall Rating 4.86/5Overall Rating 4.86/5Overall Rating 4.86/5rating 4.86
4.9
(84 Reviews)
Latest review 2 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

HB
HOWARD B.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/21/2019
Feel safe
I feel confident my vehicle will get me through big cities and bad weather. While traveling it is like I am with a good friend.... I enjoy my driving experience.....with out vehicle worries..... All vehicles should be this good

Pros
Fun to drive ...

Cons
Gets a little cramped inside when the seats are full

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
PETER B.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/15/2019
Reliable, luxurious but underpowered
Toyota builds a great product. Unfortunately so does the reset of the world and that’s going to bite Toyota in its hindquarters. When weight and size goes up, power is much needed to bridge the gap. Even the 2017 with direct injection and additional gears in the automatic, performance is only mid-pack.

I also wish I could see better highway mileage but the frontal area and weight are just too much to ask for that. I’m getting 19.7 average and would like to see low 20’s but it just isn’t going to happen.

Pros
Bulletproof reliability and awesome
Comfort

Cons
Underpowered and not very fuel efficient

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
JAMES P.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/21/2019
2016 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
Great car! Third row seating when you need it. Super economy but AWD when the weather gets bad. Luxury and practicality. The best of family cars. *******************************************************

Pros
Great size and clearance. Comfortable seating for 7.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EJ
ELAINE J.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/17/2019
Love it
Haven’t been able to drive it much yet but so far I love it and look forward to learning all about the great features!!! So far love the iPhone pairing and the size of the display screen. Love the Pearl color.

Pros
Good looking and fits in the garage

Cons
Wish it had radar like our 2017 Rav 4 does

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MARY JO G.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/17/2018
It’s a car that I feel safe in, and clearly love driving.
The dealership is unbelievably great. All the staff & even the owner had a smile. The are pet friendly with a smile that makes you feel like your someone. They also go out of there way to put you on a car that fits your needs.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
TONY B.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/19/2018
Two Highlanders and counting
I used to be a Chrysler guy since my brother-in-law worked at the local New Process Gear plant. After a couple bad experiences with Dodge Caravans, I switched to a 2009 Toyota Highlander.

I'm still driving it with over 233,000 miles and no major problems. In 2016, I bought a top-of-the-line Highlander Hybrid which averages over 27 miles per gallon city and highway. Best ever around 31, which is pretty good for such a heavy car. Just turned 54,000 on it and replaced the tires for this winter and no problems.

Love the Highlanders and will continue to buy them.

Pros
Everything above

Cons
Can't change the oil yourself. They make the oil filter so hard to find, I wouldn't dare try to do it myself.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MARK B.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/18/2018
A perfect all purpose vehicle
I bought this car based both on my own experience with Toyotas and the outstanding reviews given this vehicle; often rated the #1 mid-size SUV. Two years in and 30,000 miles, it has proven itself an excellent purchase. Does everything we need it to do, is comfortable and gets overall pretty good gasoline mileage considering its size.

Pros
Well engineered

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
PETER B.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/02/2018
Mature and taking hits from the competition
I drive different vehicles every week as a business traveler. This gives me a chance to evaluate the entire spectrum of competition from the Ford Explorer, GMC Acadia, Chevrolet Traverse, Nissan,
Kia, Hyundai, Honda, Acura....

Toyota is falling behind in drivetrain and acceleration performance pretty quickly with 9 speed automatic GM product with 300+HP.

Lack of Apple Car Play is another area of trouble as it’s simply a joke to try to use Entune.

But—in the end, the Highlander is total product quality and reliability that drove me to the lot to buy one. I like my 2016 Highlander Limited and it’s a long-term keeper.

Pros
Supreme reliability

Cons
A tad boring compared to competition from GM

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
ELLIOTT S.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/30/2018
Ultra luxry & safety
for 2016 Toyota built a great Highlander. I believe it has a top rating from Consumer Review. With many safety and luxury features, in the Platinum edition, it is a great ride. The optional third-row seating can be very useful.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOANN M.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/27/2018
Highlander Review
I love everything about this car and the purchase was a very positive experience. One of the best features is the passenger capacity - I can and have had 7 passengers in the vehicle. I also like the feeling of being just a little higher than a sedan, especially on the freeway. It rides much smoother than my previous car, handles better, overall a more enjoyable driving experience.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Bob P.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2018
Toyota Highlander
Toyota Highlander is a great SUV. It is very roomy and yet has all of the necessary technology and features. Great on the highway and also, easy to drive around town. Toyota produces a very solid and reliable vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JUDY ANN M.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/19/2018
Low model Highlander
I purchased the lowest line of Highlander. Although I really like the car there are definitely differences i notice from the higher end model. Couple of the most noticeable to me are the "sound" of the doors.......They seem very light or empty. Also the carpet quality is cheap. But it is a very comfortable traveling car and has lots of pep!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JONATHAN G.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/09/2018
High Honors for the Highlander
We leased our Highlander for just over 2 years and could not be happier with the vehicle. Everything is wonderful: The seating, the carrying capacity, the interior finishes, the creature comforts, the ergonomics and the beautiful exterior finish.

Pros
The looks
The reliability
The comfort

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
ELLIOTT S.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/12/2018
2016 Toyota Highlander
My Highlander is a great ride. Very comfortable and safe. I like the heated or air-conditioned front seats. The third-row seating has been very useful. 12 V outlet between the front bucket seats is great.

Pros
for 2016 Toyota included many safety features.

Cons
Toyota did not give a 24/7 always ON USB port. Did not give a forward proximity sensor.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
KEVIN W.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/06/2018
Love it.
Fit our needs perfectly and it was affordable. We got a certified pre owned with every bell and whistle we were looking for and some we didn’t even know we wanted. Fits our family and it more economical that the Yukon we were previously driving.

Pros
The features are awesome and it’s very comfortable.

Cons
None yet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
PETER B.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2018
Reliable and Luxuruous ride
The 2016 Highlander Limited is a great value and in the first 25000 miles the service is free. I’ve elected to add a few additional oil changes but as you might imagine, there were zero issues with the vehicle. My last Toyota, an Avalon performed flawlessly for nearly 200,000 miles before I moved to the Highlander.

The fuel economy of the Highlander is 20.2 average with as much highway mileage as possible. The performance is strong with the old 3.5 V6 and six speed automatic transmission. A few more gears now available with the 2017 would be appreciated.

The sound system is quite good although lacking the spacial characteristics of a sedan. The subwoofer in the rear hatch does vibrate at certain resonant frequencies.

The third row seat is a tad compact but with all the seats down—you can haul a lot of material from the local hardware store.

Navigation is great as is the satellite radio. Cooled seats are awesome but a bit noisy.

The seating comfort is almost European luxury brand comfortable.

The vehicle will tow with great ability up to the 5000 pound limit if you’re going short distances but I would not take it to the mountains.

Ride quality is top lucurt level and noise from
The road, wind and engine is very subdued.

The attention to detail is apparent and the only obvious oversight was the lack of gas cylinders on the hood. Hardly anything compares at $43000

Pros
Reliability and build quality

Cons
Surging acceleration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SH
STEVE H.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/16/2018
2016 Toyota Highlander Limited
I bought mu Highlander in April, 2016. I wanted a vehicle in which I could transport my 5 grandchildren and of the vehicles I test drove I felt the Highlander was the best choice. The Highlander is very comfortable, little road noise and has lots of cargo space. We enjoy taking it out for road trips and would highly recommend it.

Pros
Highlander is easy to handle, looks nice and I really like the heated and air-conditioned seats.

Cons
N/A

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
KENNETH R.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/03/2018
Love this car.
Smooth and plenty of power. A very nice ride with plenty of room.every other manufacturer trys to copy it. Good in the snow. Comfortable on long trips. So much room and if you need to you can get eight riders.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JG
JONATHAN G.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/30/2018
Highlander gets High marks!
We could not be more pleased with our Highlander. The ride, the roominess, the comfort, the power... all outstanding. Add to this Toyota Care and what more can we say other than the Highlander is an excellent vehicle.

Pros
Not much more to say other than we are very happy with the vehicle.

Cons
Of course, like everything else, wish it was a little less expensive and the gas mileage isn't the greatest.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
GREGORY H.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/13/2018
Highlander Platinum Review
We have two 2016 Highlanders, one a Limited and the other a Platinum. They are our eighth and ninth Toyotas. We purchased the 2016 Limited as. Trade-in for our 2010 Highlander Limited with over 100,000 miles. After taking the 2016 Limited on a 2,200 mile road trip, I traded my 2013 Avalaon Limited In for the 2016 Platinum.

We have thoroughly enjoyed each of our Toyotas. They are classy, comfortable, reliable and fun to drive. The 2016 Highlanders especially so.

Pros
Top to bottom, front to back just outstanding.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 84 in total