2016
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(97 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MS
MARK S.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/21/2020
Love it
Just a great all around vehicle - comfortable, good pick up, great cargo area. Good visibility, easy handling, ok mileage for what it is, does real well over Colorado passes, This is bs having to write 200 characters! I like the vehicle & would buy another.

Cons
Rubber seals around doors allows dirt & snow to collect —-doesn’t enter cabin but catches clothing when entering and exiting

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
TONY B.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/21/2020
Toyota Highlander Hybrid
This is my second Highlander. My first, a 2009, has over 238,000 miles on it and is still running down in South Carolina. It was such a good vehicle, I bought another in 2016 but got the hybrid. Whereas the 2009 averaged about 18 miles a gallon, the hybrid gets about 27. I love the car, very good riding, always dependable, easy to maintain. Sullivan's does all my work, which is usually only oil changes and tire rotations.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MIGUEL S.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/15/2020
2016 Highlander
Excellent vehicle: acceleration is great, and the seats are comfortable. Plenty of room in the second row for two above average height teenagers. Third row is small though. My only gripe is with Entune, which doesn’t integrate well with my cell phone. I’ll probably swap out the radio.

Pros
Seats
AC
Headroom
Foot room
Build quality

Cons
Third row is for kids
Entune

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
TRICIA W.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/15/2020
Love my Highlander ~ 3rd one
Love my Highlander ~ 3rd one Not sure why it has to be 200 characters 118536778887666666(554433222–22::;(667788888887664432111234;;($$$$&$!))(;;(1112828272272727272727272727277271717171711717171771717171171717117717171717171717117171771171771171)

Pros
All around I love it, my 3rd one

Cons
Wish had heated steering wheel and button to make side mirrors go in and out electronically

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
DONALD K.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/08/2020
Highlander
We LOVE our highlander. It is hands down the best car we have ever had. I love all the room inside. We will never drive a car without the safety features we have on it. The back-up camera is a godsend. We are so happy with our highlander.

Pros
So comfortable. Safety features are critical for us. Quiet! Easy to drive and park.

Cons
None for us.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
ANNAPIA P.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/08/2019
Comfortable and reliable
The Toyota Highlander drives like a car but has the power of a truck The cargo space with the back seat down allows you to bring anything home. The third seat allows you to carry 8 persons if needed

Plenty of leg room for back seat passengers
Extremely reliable with only s need of oil changes brakes and tires in the years I have owned one

Pros
Comfort power 8 seats

Cons
Roof rack not standard

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DARRELL H.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/28/2019
2016 Highlander
posilby the best auto we have ever owned just love it Thank you Ernie Erickson you have a customer for life we have had several toyota trucks and cars and enjoyed each and every one of them our Tacoma is great but our Hilander has been a pleasure to own thanks again for all at Parker Toyota for making us feel like family

Pros
Exelent in any road conditions

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Terry B.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/12/2019
Love My Highlander!
I love everything about my Highlander. It drives like a car but handles big loads and has extremely comfortable 3-row seating. I get really good highway miles ~415 mi per tank & reasonable 23 mpg city driving. I'm still breaking it in!

Pros
Fantastic all weather vehicle.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CL
CHEROKEE E L.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/03/2019
Perfect
I love it this vehicle is amazing, no complaints to give for now only brakes tires and oil i replaced for know after 3 years didn't need anything else of course and gas but mileage por galon is great.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EJ
ELAINE J.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/28/2019
Love the Highlander
Perfect size - not too small/not too big...just right! Very good looking vehicle and we feel safe as well as knowing we can count on Toyota dependability. We have been loyal Toyota buyers since 2000 and would not consider another make.

Pros
Good visibility, very comfortable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MICHAEL C.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/01/2019
Really nice car
I have been driving Highlanders for 12 years and these are really nice vehicles, I don't think that I could drive anything else, a really nice riding car, great features, loads of room and everyone that has been a passenger in it has mentioned how comfortable it is. I could drive this all day ling!

Pros
lots of room for everyone, comfortable seating, and storage. Driving is easy, fun and this handles very well.

Cons
Haven't found any!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Sharon B.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/25/2019
Love it.
I love driving my Highlander. The vehicle handles really well and is very comfortable, especially on road trips. It gets pretty good gas mileage also.

Pros
I love the keyless entry especially at night.

Cons
I wish it had a key start instead of the push button.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Terry B.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/08/2019
Love, love, love my Toyota Highlander.
Smooth ride, solid reliability - never any issues with my vehicle. Mileage is reasonable at ~28 miles per gallon on the highway.
3-row seats are a breeze to fold down to give me tons of cargo space. Great in the snow and fair weather.
Wish I had purchased it sooner.

Pros
Everything. So much fun to drive. Drives like a car and the turning ratio is amazing for a vehicle this size.

Cons
Nothing I can think of.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HB
HOWARD B.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/21/2019
Feel safe
I feel confident my vehicle will get me through big cities and bad weather. While traveling it is like I am with a good friend.... I enjoy my driving experience.....with out vehicle worries..... All vehicles should be this good

Pros
Fun to drive ...

Cons
Gets a little cramped inside when the seats are full

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PB
PETER B.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/15/2019
Reliable, luxurious but underpowered
Toyota builds a great product. Unfortunately so does the reset of the world and that’s going to bite Toyota in its hindquarters. When weight and size goes up, power is much needed to bridge the gap. Even the 2017 with direct injection and additional gears in the automatic, performance is only mid-pack.

I also wish I could see better highway mileage but the frontal area and weight are just too much to ask for that. I’m getting 19.7 average and would like to see low 20’s but it just isn’t going to happen.

Pros
Bulletproof reliability and awesome
Comfort

Cons
Underpowered and not very fuel efficient

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
JAMES P.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/21/2019
2016 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
Great car! Third row seating when you need it. Super economy but AWD when the weather gets bad. Luxury and practicality. The best of family cars. *******************************************************

Pros
Great size and clearance. Comfortable seating for 7.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EJ
ELAINE J.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/17/2019
Love it
Haven’t been able to drive it much yet but so far I love it and look forward to learning all about the great features!!! So far love the iPhone pairing and the size of the display screen. Love the Pearl color.

Pros
Good looking and fits in the garage

Cons
Wish it had radar like our 2017 Rav 4 does

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MARY JO G.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/17/2018
It’s a car that I feel safe in, and clearly love driving.
The dealership is unbelievably great. All the staff & even the owner had a smile. The are pet friendly with a smile that makes you feel like your someone. They also go out of there way to put you on a car that fits your needs.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
TONY B.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/19/2018
Two Highlanders and counting
I used to be a Chrysler guy since my brother-in-law worked at the local New Process Gear plant. After a couple bad experiences with Dodge Caravans, I switched to a 2009 Toyota Highlander.

I'm still driving it with over 233,000 miles and no major problems. In 2016, I bought a top-of-the-line Highlander Hybrid which averages over 27 miles per gallon city and highway. Best ever around 31, which is pretty good for such a heavy car. Just turned 54,000 on it and replaced the tires for this winter and no problems.

Love the Highlanders and will continue to buy them.

Pros
Everything above

Cons
Can't change the oil yourself. They make the oil filter so hard to find, I wouldn't dare try to do it myself.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MB
MARK B.
2016 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/18/2018
A perfect all purpose vehicle
I bought this car based both on my own experience with Toyotas and the outstanding reviews given this vehicle; often rated the #1 mid-size SUV. Two years in and 30,000 miles, it has proven itself an excellent purchase. Does everything we need it to do, is comfortable and gets overall pretty good gasoline mileage considering its size.

Pros
Well engineered

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 97 in total