2004
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.54/5Overall Rating 4.54/5Overall Rating 4.54/5Overall Rating 4.54/5rating 4.54
4.5
(28 Reviews)
Latest review 5 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

DM
DOUGLAS M.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/20/2019
Highlander
Have had good luck with it. Parts are expensive though. My salesperson was excellent through out the sale and 15 years later, is still outstanding today. When we are ready for another new Toyota, we will call him.

Pros
Great all around vehicle

Cons
Road/air noise in cabin

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Mark S.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/12/2018
Damn good vehicle
Over the years I've owned Fords, Dodges, Pontiac, Chevrolet and the occasional oddball like an International Scout (which I loved) but this Highlander is my first Toyota and I have to say it is the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. With 230,000 miles it still handles well and drives like new. I get great gas mileage and the V-6 engine has plenty of giddy-up. It's fun to drive and I would not hesitate to take it cross country on a trip.

Pros
Reliable, safe, handles well, very good gas mileage and plenty of engine power. Comfortable with good vision to the side and rear. Excellent heater and air conditioning.

Cons
Too much road noise heard inside the passenger compartment. Could use more insulation. If windows are open slightly, a painful to the ears vibration or noise is heard and "felt".

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EN
EDWARD N.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/04/2018
Old dependable
Love this car. Wish it had some of the new bells and whistles but it is a workhorse and comfortable.
The newer model is much larger and seats more people.i prefer the size we own. Nice paint job on the car.

Pros
Great air conditioner. Comfortable ride.
Both front seats are electric.
Good view of road

Cons
This is a 2004 car so it does not have the GPS or rear view mirrors.
At night the reverse lights do not give you a good view.
No dual heat/air for front seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Shari C.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/17/2018
Happycamper
My Toyota Highlander has been a greatly dependable car. I keep up with the service needs and have low mileage. My big complaint is that the paint they used on 2004 model I have is a single faced paint and has not held well. The engine is great but the paint is flat and coming off the hood. Will need to look into getting it painted if I plan to keep it as it is looking shabby. It was garaged for at least 2 years.

Pros
Engine is good

Cons
Paint quality cheap-not holding up

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
DOROTHY D.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/15/2018
Best car reliablity ever is a Highlander 2004
In 14 years I have replaced tires, battery, headlight. Oil changes and replacement of belts as a proactive decision has made this car reliable to a fault. Drives in snow effortlessly .looks good even after 14 years

Pros
Reliable and stylish. Seats 7. Handles great in the snow

Cons
Third row seat hard to get in. Newer years fixed this issue.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
LEWIS G.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/01/2018
Toyota Highlander 2004
Bought this SUV in summer 2001, Today is 1/1/2018. Enen thought I scraped it a few times, it has only needed 1 major operational repair: Rear suspension repair.I do get registrar service at Bourne's in South Burlington, VT. This vehicle has been nothing short of fantastic. I have never kept a vehicle this long and I am not yet willing to trade it in.

Pros
Extremely reliable. Design still looks classy and finush is excellent, does NOT look like an "old" car. Comfortable, The SUV model is vert practical..

Cons
weight requires more changes of tires.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Carrie B.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/18/2017
Reliable
Great car I have had it since 2004

Cons
Not awd

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EN
EDWARD N.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/06/2017
Love my Highlander
This car is 13years old and runs like a beauty. We made a great choice here.

Pros
Always ready to start.

Cons
Eats a little more gas but nice ride.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PK
PATTY K.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2017
I like my highlander very much, and I wouldn't buy anything else.
It's very comfortable and has enough rooms, and feel very safe while driving.

Pros
Excellent car, I would buy another one, if I need to buy again.

Cons
Wish it gets a better mileage!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
SUSAN M.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/07/2017
Great car
Would definitely buy another one. Very dependable and low maintenance.

Pros
Dependability, minimal maintenance & repairs

Cons
Somewhat ordinary looking. Not showy, it that's what you like.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
RICHARD G.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/03/2017
2004 Toyota highlander
Steering wheel rattles and shakes, brake rotors need to be turned, transmission is erratic at times

Cons
This vehicle has problems that shouldn't be there . This highlander has under 100k miles. It is not fun to drive..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EN
EDWARD N.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/27/2017
2004 Toyota Highlander
Love this car. It is a work horse. They changed it in the years after. Made it bigger and more bells and whistles but I like this year.
Hope to have it for another 10 years.

Pros
Easy to navigate
No blind spots
Good air conditioning

Cons
No built in GPS
No rear camera

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
LYN M.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/30/2017
Great Reliable Family Vehicle
Love this car. Never fails to start, has good turning radius, seats 7, gets decent gas mileage and requires few repairs absent normal maintenance.

Pros
Seats 7. Reliable vehicle. decent gas mileage. good turning radius. plenty of room inside but fits into regular parking spaces.

Cons
Paint hasn't fared too well.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
CHERYL G.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/07/2017
My Truck
I love my Toyota Highlander!

Pros
Reliable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
JULIE H.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/07/2017
best car I ever owned
256,000 and loving it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
REYNALDO T.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/04/2017
2004 Toyota Highlander
The vehicle is very reliable and easy to maintain!.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DOREEN B.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/23/2016
My 2004 Highlander
Love this car! So reliable (mechanically) haven't had any trouble with the car. Have taken it on long distance trips. Back interior area so roomy, allowed for lots of successfully trips moving my son's back & forth to college. Been a Toyota customer for 3 out of my 4 cars that I've owned. Always reliable great performance.

Pros
Great gas mileage for a car of its size. Mechanically reliable.

Cons
Rear bumper cheap fiberglass, should be made of stronger material.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EN
EDWARD N.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/16/2016
This was our primary car.
We just leased a new car so my Hilander gets a bit of a break. I love this car and hope it lasts a long long time.

Pros
Reliable.
Both front seats electric and heated
Good visibility of road

Cons
Does not have dual heat or air conteols
Poor back lighting after dark.
New model of this car too big for us. Had to switch to different car or would have bought another Highlander.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NC
NANETTE C.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/12/2016
Very reliable
Great Family Car. Reliable, comfortable and would buy another in a heartbeat

Pros
Reliable, good gas mileage, comfortable riding car

Cons
No air-conditioning vents in the back, but newer models have this

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
RANDAL B.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/27/2016
2004 Toyota Highlander Limited, 3.3L V6
Absolutely reliable. No unscheduled maintenance in 115,000 miles. We got 12 years out of the original battery---which is unbelievable, especially since the kids tried to kill it twice by leaving doors ajar overnight so the dome lights ran it down! After a day on the slow charger each time, that battery gave us several more years of service before really wearing out. 7 passengers are no problem if those in the back seat aren't taller than 5'8" or so. Would like to get a few more MPG, even though this is competitive w/other brands and models of this type. Best was 23 MPG on long road trip w/2 adults and 80 lbs of luggage/gear. Worst was 17 on short trips, all in town. Average 19 - 21.

Pros
Reliability
Utility

Cons
Mileage

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 28 in total