Style image original

2004
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5rating 4.5

24 Reviews

Latest review 7 days ago
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling
on 04/15/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best car reliablity ever is a Highlander 2004"

In 14 years I have replaced tires, battery, headlight. Oil changes and replacement of belts as a proactive decision has made this car reliable to a fault. Drives in snow effortlessly .looks good even after 14 years

Pros
Reliable and stylish. Seats 7. Handles great in the snow

Cons
Third row seat hard to get in. Newer years fixed this issue.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 01/01/2018
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Toyota Highlander 2004"

Bought this SUV in summer 2001, Today is 1/1/2018. Enen thought I scraped it a few times, it has only needed 1 major operational repair: Rear suspension repair.I do get registrar service at Bourne's in South Burlington, VT. This vehicle has been nothing short of fantastic. I have never kept a vehicle this long and I am not yet willing to trade it in.

Pros
Extremely reliable. Design still looks classy and finush is excellent, does NOT look like an "old" car. Comfortable, The SUV model is vert practical..

Cons
weight requires more changes of tires.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 11/18/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Reliable"

Great car I have had it since 2004

Cons
Not awd

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 10/06/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love my Highlander"

This car is 13years old and runs like a beauty. We made a great choice here.

Pros
Always ready to start.

Cons
Eats a little more gas but nice ride.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/16/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I like my highlander very much, and I wouldn't buy anything else."

It's very comfortable and has enough rooms, and feel very safe while driving.

Pros
Excellent car, I would buy another one, if I need to buy again.

Cons
Wish it gets a better mileage!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/07/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great car"

Would definitely buy another one. Very dependable and low maintenance.

Pros
Dependability, minimal maintenance & repairs

Cons
Somewhat ordinary looking. Not showy, it that's what you like.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/03/2017
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
"2004 Toyota highlander"

Steering wheel rattles and shakes, brake rotors need to be turned, transmission is erratic at times

Cons
This vehicle has problems that shouldn't be there . This highlander has under 100k miles. It is not fun to drive..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 06/27/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2004 Toyota Highlander"

Love this car. It is a work horse. They changed it in the years after. Made it bigger and more bells and whistles but I like this year. Hope to have it for another 10 years.

Pros
Easy to navigate No blind spots Good air conditioning

Cons
No built in GPS No rear camera

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/30/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Great Reliable Family Vehicle"

Love this car. Never fails to start, has good turning radius, seats 7, gets decent gas mileage and requires few repairs absent normal maintenance.

Pros
Seats 7. Reliable vehicle. decent gas mileage. good turning radius. plenty of room inside but fits into regular parking spaces.

Cons
Paint hasn't fared too well.

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/07/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"My Truck"

I love my Toyota Highlander!

Pros
Reliable

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/07/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"best car I ever owned"

256,000 and loving it.
Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 02/04/2017
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2004 Toyota Highlander"

The vehicle is very reliable and easy to maintain!.
Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 12/23/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My 2004 Highlander"

Love this car! So reliable (mechanically) haven't had any trouble with the car. Have taken it on long distance trips. Back interior area so roomy, allowed for lots of successfully trips moving my son's back & forth to college. Been a Toyota customer for 3 out of my 4 cars that I've owned. Always reliable great performance.

Pros
Great gas mileage for a car of its size. Mechanically reliable.

Cons
Rear bumper cheap fiberglass, should be made of stronger material.

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 09/16/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"This was our primary car."

We just leased a new car so my Hilander gets a bit of a break. I love this car and hope it lasts a long long time.

Pros
Reliable. Both front seats electric and heated Good visibility of road

Cons
Does not have dual heat or air conteols Poor back lighting after dark. New model of this car too big for us. Had to switch to different car or would have bought another Highlander.

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 08/12/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Very reliable"

Great Family Car. Reliable, comfortable and would buy another in a heartbeat

Pros
Reliable, good gas mileage, comfortable riding car

Cons
No air-conditioning vents in the back, but newer models have this

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/27/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"2004 Toyota Highlander Limited, 3.3L V6"

Absolutely reliable. No unscheduled maintenance in 115,000 miles. We got 12 years out of the original battery---which is unbelievable, especially since the kids tried to kill it twice by leaving doors ajar overnight so the dome lights ran it down! After a day on the slow charger each time, that battery gave us several more years of service before really wearing out. 7 passengers are no problem if those in the back seat aren't taller than 5'8" or so. Would like to get a few more MPG, even though this is competitive w/other brands and models of this type. Best was 23 MPG on long road trip w/2 adults and 80 lbs of luggage/gear. Worst was 17 on short trips, all in town. Average 19 - 21.

Pros
Reliability Utility

Cons
Mileage

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 07/26/2016
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"2004 Highlander. "

Really enjoy my car. Have put 140,000 miles on it. Very little repairs done.

Pros
Easy to see out of and handle. Space is great.

Cons
4 cylinder is a little under powered for the weight of this car.

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 05/02/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Love it"

Bought it new and still love it after 12 years.
Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 04/15/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Highlander"

Has been a good car. Hope to get another 100,000 out of it!

Pros
Seems to just keep on running Easy for me to get in and out of. Easy for me to see out of.

Cons
A/c has gone out. Want to much to fix. A little noisy. Not a smooth ride It's a 4 cylinder that I thought would give me great mileage ...turns out not to be so!!

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
on 03/05/2016
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Best car ever had"

I just love my Highlander. It is so reliable and comfortable to ride in.

Pros
Reliable Easy to drive

Cons
Need dual heat controls Need better back up lights at night

Verified badge inactive Verified
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 24 in total