2004
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(36 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

ML
MARCIE L.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/01/2020
Highlander
This car is a workhorse. It’s a 2004 vehicle that is still getting 22 miles to the gallon. I’ve taken good care of and it continues to do everything I’ve asked her to do- from schlepping kids, car seats, wheelchairs and walkers.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MT
MARGRET T.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/29/2019
It is the best vehicle I haave owned
The Highlander has been the best vehicle I have owned. It has good acceleration and plenty of room for cargo or people. It does the best in wet weather with good traction tires. Other than normal maintenance we have not had many major problems. It has done remarkably well for its age and mileage.

Pros
plenty of room for cargo or people
Does good in snow and ice; positive handling
Very reliable

Cons
Good tires are a must
Electrical problem

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DOUGLAS M.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/11/2019
Aging
Vehicle is great, wind/road noise irritating, quality built into car is great. Repairs expensive. Why do I need to write a novel? Its a great day in November, use a little rain, but overall a great month
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EN
EDWARD N.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/13/2019
Work horse
15 years old and works like a charm. Keep the oil changed and it purrs like a kitten.
I would buy again only Toyota made the car too big for my needs so i will keep this one running for as long as I can.

Pros
Works great in all weather

Cons
This model with its age does not have all the fancy mirrors, cameras, or safely options but gets the job done.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FW
Fred W.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/14/2019
excellent
Excellent excellent excellent excellent excellent excellent excellent excellent excellent excellent excellent excellent excellent excellent excellent excellent excellent excellent excellent excellent excellent....take this question out to many characters needed!

Pros
Excellent

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
Asherah C.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/28/2019
Love my car
I adore my car. It is 15 years old & has almost 200,000 miles. Too bad they made it about 20% larger a few years ago. If it were back to original size I would get a new one in a minute. Dont really have anything else to say but they wanted more words.

Pros
Lots of room, great seats. Love driving it.

Cons
Toyota has never solved the odd problem in all its cars that if you open one or all window even at low highway speeds the air inside the car reverbarates...headaches follow. So i have to use air conditioner all the time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
Joseph D.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/29/2019
Toyota quality in question
Overall good light truck ,Great in snow ,Spirted driving not really its game .But Toyota has a rust problem living here in north east .Yearly have to wire brush rear drive housing support and suspension compounts .body it self good.Hard to clean under middle seats don't know why so little space meby gas tank ? Compounts like struts,water pump Airconditioner clutch and compressor don't last as long as my GM vehicles and very expensive to replace .Left tranny mount rotted away right not so bad after140.000 miles I expect more .have had 2 GM cars my hole life 56 now Pontiac replaced water pump after 285000 miles both cars and truck maintained according to manufactures service ,but I Chang Transmission fluid on Toyora every 30.000 miles like on my cars and flush out cooling system on truck same.Hate thes plastic lights on all new cars bring back the glass or a material that can take the sun and sand

Pros
Snow ,visibility out rear and around,headliner ,avability of parts,tows pretty good,looks good in and out.Interior build and materials.

Cons
Passenger seat no adjustment all forigen cars,AC to 3seat ,3seat not for adults ,Honda Pilot better their.Expensive parts don't last like should,Welded Compounts rust.unlike forged GM parts .

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EN
EDWARD N.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/16/2019
2004 and still giving a great ride. Dependable car
Well made. Fair on fuel. Hope to have it for many more years.
Miss the rear view camera the newer cars have but it is a really good car.
The newer models are now three rows of seats and much larger. Not what we wanted.

Pros
Dependable.
Nice ride and roomy

Cons
Does. To hBe all the safety features of the new models

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DOUGLAS M.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/20/2019
Highlander
Have had good luck with it. Parts are expensive though. My salesperson was excellent through out the sale and 15 years later, is still outstanding today. When we are ready for another new Toyota, we will call him.

Pros
Great all around vehicle

Cons
Road/air noise in cabin

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Mark S.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/12/2018
Damn good vehicle
Over the years I've owned Fords, Dodges, Pontiac, Chevrolet and the occasional oddball like an International Scout (which I loved) but this Highlander is my first Toyota and I have to say it is the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. With 230,000 miles it still handles well and drives like new. I get great gas mileage and the V-6 engine has plenty of giddy-up. It's fun to drive and I would not hesitate to take it cross country on a trip.

Pros
Reliable, safe, handles well, very good gas mileage and plenty of engine power. Comfortable with good vision to the side and rear. Excellent heater and air conditioning.

Cons
Too much road noise heard inside the passenger compartment. Could use more insulation. If windows are open slightly, a painful to the ears vibration or noise is heard and "felt".

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EN
EDWARD N.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/04/2018
Old dependable
Love this car. Wish it had some of the new bells and whistles but it is a workhorse and comfortable.
The newer model is much larger and seats more people.i prefer the size we own. Nice paint job on the car.

Pros
Great air conditioner. Comfortable ride.
Both front seats are electric.
Good view of road

Cons
This is a 2004 car so it does not have the GPS or rear view mirrors.
At night the reverse lights do not give you a good view.
No dual heat/air for front seats.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
Shari C.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/17/2018
Happycamper
My Toyota Highlander has been a greatly dependable car. I keep up with the service needs and have low mileage. My big complaint is that the paint they used on 2004 model I have is a single faced paint and has not held well. The engine is great but the paint is flat and coming off the hood. Will need to look into getting it painted if I plan to keep it as it is looking shabby. It was garaged for at least 2 years.

Pros
Engine is good

Cons
Paint quality cheap-not holding up

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
DOROTHY D.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/15/2018
Best car reliablity ever is a Highlander 2004
In 14 years I have replaced tires, battery, headlight. Oil changes and replacement of belts as a proactive decision has made this car reliable to a fault. Drives in snow effortlessly .looks good even after 14 years

Pros
Reliable and stylish. Seats 7. Handles great in the snow

Cons
Third row seat hard to get in. Newer years fixed this issue.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
LEWIS G.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/01/2018
Toyota Highlander 2004
Bought this SUV in summer 2001, Today is 1/1/2018. Enen thought I scraped it a few times, it has only needed 1 major operational repair: Rear suspension repair.I do get registrar service at Bourne's in South Burlington, VT. This vehicle has been nothing short of fantastic. I have never kept a vehicle this long and I am not yet willing to trade it in.

Pros
Extremely reliable. Design still looks classy and finush is excellent, does NOT look like an "old" car. Comfortable, The SUV model is vert practical..

Cons
weight requires more changes of tires.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Carrie B.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/18/2017
Reliable
Great car I have had it since 2004

Cons
Not awd

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EN
EDWARD N.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/06/2017
Love my Highlander
This car is 13years old and runs like a beauty. We made a great choice here.

Pros
Always ready to start.

Cons
Eats a little more gas but nice ride.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PK
PATTY K.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/16/2017
I like my highlander very much, and I wouldn't buy anything else.
It's very comfortable and has enough rooms, and feel very safe while driving.

Pros
Excellent car, I would buy another one, if I need to buy again.

Cons
Wish it gets a better mileage!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
SUSAN M.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/07/2017
Great car
Would definitely buy another one. Very dependable and low maintenance.

Pros
Dependability, minimal maintenance & repairs

Cons
Somewhat ordinary looking. Not showy, it that's what you like.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
RICHARD G.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/03/2017
2004 Toyota highlander
Steering wheel rattles and shakes, brake rotors need to be turned, transmission is erratic at times

Cons
This vehicle has problems that shouldn't be there . This highlander has under 100k miles. It is not fun to drive..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EN
EDWARD N.
2004 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/27/2017
2004 Toyota Highlander
Love this car. It is a work horse. They changed it in the years after. Made it bigger and more bells and whistles but I like this year.
Hope to have it for another 10 years.

Pros
Easy to navigate
No blind spots
Good air conditioning

Cons
No built in GPS
No rear camera

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 36 in total