2006
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5rating 4.68
4.7
(31 Reviews)
Latest review over 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


DT
David T.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/26/2017
Not what I expect from a Toyota
Ive owned 2 Camrys which are great cars and still own 1. It has 220,000 miles and has never had a problem with it. The Highlander has 100,000 miles and has had sensor issues, we needed to replace the alternator and needs a catalitic converter. Really disappointed. I wouldnt buy another but i would definitely buy another Camry.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MIRIAM M.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/09/2017
Overall a fine vehicle
We've had our 2006 for 6 years now. I really shouldn't have been chosen to write a review as we purchased our Highlander with a salvage title. The people who "fixed" the car before our purchase were crooks. They bypassed every safety precausion and every detail in order to save money. According to our mechanic, we could have blown up inside our SUV after the gas line wasn't tightened, and the safety switch or connection wasn't either and it came unhooked... non of the doors shut correctly and the power windows don't work well or at all. No seals are tight and the tires wear off like butter. Not as spacious as a minivan of course either. Haha. That was our mistake of buying it but it had low miles and was priced well compared to all the non salvaged Highlander's out there. Besides all the body (less than) imperfections, the motor has been running great. Never any real issues. It was stolen this summer and we both were hoping it wouldn't be recovered which it did. So now we have this very poor functioning car back. The interesting thing is that despite all the physical problems we have with this car, I still love it (my husband hates it). So here is a average 3 star rating for you.

Pros
Very sturdy. 7 seat option make this car great for emergency situations but it's not meant for full time full capacity usage especially not once the kids have grown to be as tall as me. All wheel drive is a fine feature to have. Has all power everything. Great for towing trailer as well.

Cons
No room once the 3rd row is in use. Best for smaller passengers especially back row. Not much leg room.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Kim J S.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/17/2015
'06 Hylander - a pleasant ride!
Vehicle is a pleasant ride. Doors do not automatically lock as my Camry does. Dashboard configuration for dials to read & set for heat & fan isnt great. Seatbelt on driver's side isn't long enough. My Camry has a longer one. Not much front storage-space under console isnt easy to access. Overall it is easy to drive and handles well.

Pros
Comfortable, nice driving & handling.

Cons
Driver Seatbelt too short, limited storage. Climate controls not to my liking.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JEFF D.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/31/2015
2006 Toyota Highlander
Great size. Not too big, not too small. Easy to get around in and park. Good gas mileage and very reliable. Nice high ride height and easy to see out the front as well as the back.

Pros
Great gas mileage for a SUV. Very quick with the V-6 and Hybrid. Easy to see around when driving.

Cons
I have the hybrid model, and in the northern part of the country, you can't turn the car on and let it warm up while you clean the snow off. The engine doesn't turn on until you deplete the battery !

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
BETSY P.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/09/2017
2006 Toyota Highlander
It has been a really reliable car and I would buy another one but not from either of the local dealerships. Freeman and Handel are both rip-offs

Pros
Room for five adults and two kids or a couple of dogs. Appointments are nice and comfortable.

Cons
Expensive
Gas mileage was not as good as they advertised but still better than my 4-Runner.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DARIN G.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/15/2017
Nice
We bought this fresh off the lot.
Brand new. And drive the hell out of it.
Over 214k and still going on strong

Pros
I get low on fuel often
And I have never had an issue getting to the gas station.
Very dependable

Cons
N/a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DARIN G.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/16/2018
Great Car
We bought this car right off the lot in 05
and we continue to drive the heck out of it all over the place. Up and down the coast numerous times as well as up to WA . This little
car has given us nothing but smooth rides everywhere. I would buy this car again if need. This Highlander even after 220k miles still has plenty of get up and go .
Never any major issues w/ this.
Highly recommended

Pros
I have nothing but good things to say about my Highlander
Never had any major issues with it. and I have over 220k miles on it

Cons
Would like to see a bit more leg room in the back seat
or rear seat heaters but that's about it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
Karen D.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/20/2018
GREAT SUV
GREAT SUV, Rides nice, drives very good in bad weather. I Would definitely buy another. I bought it used, one owner, low miles, my only complaint is, I wish it had a sun/moon roof! I recommend this car to any one that wants an SUV or just a good car.

Pros
GREAT SUV

Cons
No MOON ROOF

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MARK S.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/20/2015
Ski with a Highlander
Our Higlander has nearly 250 K of ski racing miles on it. We never worry where we are heading regardless of the weather. Our Highlander takes care of us all over the west! It holds oodles of gear & racer bodies. When we aren't skiing, out Great Pyrenees, Eloise, loves the spacious back area.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MO
MARTY O.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/22/2015
2006 Toyota Highlander.
It's a hybrid. Averages 25 mpg, handles well and has a nice, solid ride also.
Marty
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PP
PAUL R. P.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/09/2015
Awesome
Love it. Zero problems.

Pros
Highly reliable

Cons
Mileage not as good as advertised

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
STAN B.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/07/2015
I love my 06 Toyota Highlandeer Ltd.
This has been the best automobile I have ever owned. I have had a Chrysler, an Infiniti, and a Lexus. My Toyota has over 118,000 miles and I have never had any major problems. I truly hate to give it up because I am afraid I won't be this lucky again!

Cons
The only negative I have is that the windows could be a bit more air tight.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JY
JOHN Y.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/14/2015
Best vehicle I've ever owned!
Nothing more to add..........

Pros
Overall quality with over 209,000 miles

Cons
Nothing I can think of.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
SUSAN C.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/20/2016
2006 V6 Toyota Highlander
Simply the best car I have ever owned. The only thing that would improve it would be a little more room in the 3rd row seating. But overall, it's a great vehicle.

Pros
Comfort, mileage (really good for an SUV), durability

Cons
Could use more room in the 3rd row seating.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JY
JOHN Y.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/10/2016
I'm Happy
The best vehicle I have ever owned after 56 years! My last domestic car was in 1985 and I have been "Japanese" ever since (One Honda, the rest Toyota)

Pros
The best!

Cons
Too much mileage!! (2!!,000)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PC
Pat C.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/12/2016
Love this car!
Best car I have ever purchased! I love my highlander!!

Pros
Great car in every way! Efficient, dependable, looks great, comfortable!

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KT
KATE T.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/28/2016
Love my Highlander!
Easy to handle, great visibility. Good gas mileage, lots of space in the back, and third row seating is perfect for the occasional group ride. No complaints at all.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JEANNE S.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2016
Highlander trip-check
Trip-cheeked then realized shimming in the steering wheel and took back. They did front end alignment, balancing added weights on one tire. No shimmy and all ready for a trip.

Cons
Arthritis in hands hurt on long trips.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Tom M.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/27/2017
2006 Toyota Highlander Hybrid Limited
Vehicle runs great, very comfortable. Gas mileage on the Hybrid is good,

Pros
Has lots of immediate power(hybrid/cvt), very comfortable.

Cons
Third row seating is only good for small kids/short trips

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
DEBORAH C.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/04/2017
Good vehicle
It's almost 11 yrs. old and all I have had to do is purchase a battery, new tires, oil changes, a alternator, and brakes. No major expense. Would buy another Toyota.

Pros
Not enough value when selling compared to price pd. Low maintenance. Great car and very good ride for a SUV

Cons
Too expensive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 31 in total