2002
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(31 Reviews)
Latest review 29 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

PP
Philipe P.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/14/2020
2002 Highlander
Great vehicle. Been off road, on beach and highway. Love it! Bought it with only 89k miles. Excellent condition. Fun to drive and my two dogs fit in back for our family adventures. Comfortable car and easy to drive. V6 gives it great power to drive on and off road.

Pros
V6 front wheel drive. Comfortable and solid.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
Theresa W.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
04/04/2020
It will do
Got new engine.got Door handle fixed. Needs new tail light. Heater will not turn off but it will do it will do. But rogue automotive will fix what's not done. It will do it will do it will do it will do it will do it will do it will do

Pros
Lots of safe metal

Cons
Not very good engine

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BF
Brenda F.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/26/2019
2002 Toyota Highlander Limited
Over 206,000 miles on this car and I expect it to go over 300,000 no problem. Wish I could afford a new one! However, sometimes you just land on a great car. With leather seats and all the amenities the mileage means nothing to me. Very few repairs over the years, Love. This. Car. I will be willing to put more money in it to keep it running if necessary. Will only buy a new car when this one dies completely. Besides, I HATE the design on the new Highlander’s, with the tail lights sticking out like frog eyeballs. They really screwed up the rear end.

Pros
Comfort, reliability, great looking car with plenty of space for my 115 pound male Akita.

Cons
None that I can think of

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
WILLIAM S.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/09/2019
Toyota Service
OUTSTANDING!!! The best there is. Would recommend this vehicle to anyone. Total reliability and safety. Very low on maintenance costs and excellent mileage. Will highly purchase this product again!!!

Pros
Great vehicle!!!

Cons
NONE!!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHN M.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/23/2019
Best car ever.
Best car ever. The “Blue beast” just keeps on running and still looks good on the road. It has high-performance and reliability. You can take anyone or anything anywhere with full confidence that it will perform.

Pros
Versatile and fits every need.

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
SANDY F.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/26/2019
Best car ever!
I have had my 2002 Toyota Highlander since it was brand new. This is the best and most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. It is roomy and comfortable and easy to get in and out of (important if you do not bend easily). Live this car!!

Pros
Reliable!!

Cons
What cons?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VB
Virginia B.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/15/2018
2002?Highlander
I bought my Highlander when they were brand new in the market. I have never had anything catastrophic go wrong with my trusty little car. I love the smallness of it. You could put mine into one of the new Highlander they are that big! Go back to the smaller model Toyota.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
SANDY B.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/11/2018
It has been a very dependable and comfortable car for the last 16 years.
Good family, and that includes the dogs, kind of car. We bought it brand new and it has proven its worth many times over. Rides and drives well and has plenty of power. However, with the V-6 motor, the best we have ever gotten for mileage is 22mpg. That is our only complaint.

Pros
Good handling, comfortable car.

Cons
Mileage could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
Betty B.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/11/2018
Love my old highlander 2002
Would buy another if I had the money..it is a comfortable and easy to drive vehicle..room for 5 passengers..good visability, cargo sufficient..only required service has been needed..I hope it lasts til milage reaches 200,000.

Pros
Safe, easy to drive, good visability..

Cons
It's getting old..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
JOETTE F.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/13/2018
The best
I’ve had my highlander for about seven years now and have loved driving it every day. It has been extremely reliable and has never broken down, I have over 200,000 miles on it and it runs wonderful and my mechanic says I’ll get another 1000,000 miles easy. I’m the second owner and have every recite from previous owner so I know everything about my car. I’m very happy I bought a Toyota Highlander!!!

Pros
Handles great, looks great, very dependable

Cons
Can’t really think of any

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
ALASDAIR C.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/17/2018
Over all review
A great car; I have now had this car for all 16 years of its life. Apart from my daughters crash - when she decided to crash into another vehicle - this car has been just great and has always got me home. At my most recent service they said that this car is like a car that is only a few years old and not the 16 year old it is. They said I should keep the car as it has only had minimal repairs and probably will go for another 150,000 miles if I want it to. No rust and with that report I will probably keep it as a second car when it is bad weather or it snows or when my convertible is in the shop.

Pros
Wonderful reliable car, has never let me down, I will keep it!

Cons
The radio, airbag system etc and no longer "state of the art" as the car was designed over 15 years ago. I have not changed the radio (but could) but part from that it has been a fabulous car and great value for the money!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NE
NANCI E.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/04/2018
2002 Toyota Highlander
A quality car. Three timing belts in 255,692 miles is the only money besides oil change I have spent on this car. Love my Highlander. Smooth ride, no road noise, comfortable, corners well, excellent excellaration, easily makes tight turns.

Pros
Reliability

Cons
Zero

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Dee W.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/29/2017
best ever
2002 highlander best suv ever, dependable, fun to own, great on long trips and those short ones around town
can't say enough about this suv

Pros
see above

Cons
see above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
Bijay P.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/15/2017
Services done for my vehicle
Their services are very good and they deliver as promised.

Pros
Comitted

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
DON H.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/14/2017
2002 Highlander
Have never been disappointed with this vehicle. Our 3 year old grand daughter says she loves it because she can see out the windows.

Pros
Best ride I've ever experienced in a SUV.
Great fuel economy.
15 years old and everything still works.

Cons
Leg room on the front passenger seat gets a little tight on longer trips.
Lack of adjustable lumbar support on the front passenger seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DB
DONALD B.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/28/2017
Toyota SUV
2002 Highlander has 176k miles. Drives more like only 17k Have loved this vehicle since original lease/purchase

Pros
Reliability and longevity

Cons
Moderate gas mileage. Some road noise without radio in use

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NE
NANCI E.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/26/2017
Love My Car
Love my Highlander!!❤️ I have only spent money n maintance, and very little at that! I have changed the oil regularly. Over 250,000 miles, 1 break job, 1 timing belt replaced, shocks. That's it. Have gotten my monies worth. It's clean inside n out. No plans on replacing it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Dee W.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/21/2017
still having fun
love to get in and go, great ride, still enjoy the ride
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NM
NATALIA M.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/11/2017
Great car!!!
Love that car. Just want to have more luxury!!

Pros
Great car and run forever

Cons
Old model

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
JULIE R.
2002 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/10/2017
Reliable and A Pleasure to Drive
I have had my 2002 Highlander since it was brand new. It has served me well. What I like most about my car is that it drives like a car, not an SUV. I test drove other SUV's and found the handling atrocious. Not my Highlander. I don't even want to trade it in for another one!

Pros
This car was well-made. It has held up well for the past 15 years!

Cons
I find it hard to park, but it may be my lack of prowess in parking. I used to own a sports car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 31 in total