2006
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5rating 4.68
4.7
(34 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


KO
Kevin O.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/11/2018
2006 Highlander Limited
I have a 2006 Highlander Limited purchased March, 2018. It had a clean carfax and only 65k on the odometer. I love the size of the vehicle (first generation), it's four-wheel drive grip on the road. It's a vehicle that Toyota just got right in so many ways. The later generations are bigger and beyond what I feel comfortable with. Find the right first generation Highlander and you'll be happy with it.

Pros
Nearly perfect overall package. A first generation Highlander, well maintained, holds its value much better than nearly every other vehicle out there.

Cons
Transmission sometimes has a little tug at first acceleration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VS
VALERIE S.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/23/2018
Toyota Highlander
Purchased vehicle brand new, minimal problems, still has many original parts that are just now starting to need to be replaced. Maintenance on vehicle kept up, runs as good today as when it was brand new. Would purchase another one.

Pros
Has many of the features that I wanted in a vehicle

Cons
Does not have an media outlet built into console, this feature was introduced in later models

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
DONNA D.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/16/2019
Highlander
Having owned 6 Mercedes, I would rate this vehicle equal to and beyond the best as it has exceeded my expectations. I'd never hesitate considering another Highlander or recommending to a friend. Keep up the excellence Toyota.

Pros
Preforms today as the day I drove it out of the showroom.

Cons
Don't have any......

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
HANNS H.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/02/2019
Great car
Best car I ever owned. 140000+ miles and not a single issue in 14 years! The battery of the hybrid system is loosing a bit of its stfegh and lasts a bit shorts. It used to last the full length of the West Side Highway in Manhatten.

Pros
See above

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MICHAEL G.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2019
Reliable Toyota
The Highlander is a great vehicle if you're looking for more than a sedan but not a minivan. It still has plenty of space for luggage and hauling stuff while retaining a nice interior for around town driving and longer trips.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
Kim J S.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/17/2015
'06 Hylander - a pleasant ride!
Vehicle is a pleasant ride. Doors do not automatically lock as my Camry does. Dashboard configuration for dials to read & set for heat & fan isnt great. Seatbelt on driver's side isn't long enough. My Camry has a longer one. Not much front storage-space under console isnt easy to access. Overall it is easy to drive and handles well.

Pros
Comfortable, nice driving & handling.

Cons
Driver Seatbelt too short, limited storage. Climate controls not to my liking.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JEFF D.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/31/2015
2006 Toyota Highlander
Great size. Not too big, not too small. Easy to get around in and park. Good gas mileage and very reliable. Nice high ride height and easy to see out the front as well as the back.

Pros
Great gas mileage for a SUV. Very quick with the V-6 and Hybrid. Easy to see around when driving.

Cons
I have the hybrid model, and in the northern part of the country, you can't turn the car on and let it warm up while you clean the snow off. The engine doesn't turn on until you deplete the battery !

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BP
BETSY P.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/09/2017
2006 Toyota Highlander
It has been a really reliable car and I would buy another one but not from either of the local dealerships. Freeman and Handel are both rip-offs

Pros
Room for five adults and two kids or a couple of dogs. Appointments are nice and comfortable.

Cons
Expensive
Gas mileage was not as good as they advertised but still better than my 4-Runner.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DARIN G.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/15/2017
Nice
We bought this fresh off the lot.
Brand new. And drive the hell out of it.
Over 214k and still going on strong

Pros
I get low on fuel often
And I have never had an issue getting to the gas station.
Very dependable

Cons
N/a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DARIN G.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/16/2018
Great Car
We bought this car right off the lot in 05
and we continue to drive the heck out of it all over the place. Up and down the coast numerous times as well as up to WA . This little
car has given us nothing but smooth rides everywhere. I would buy this car again if need. This Highlander even after 220k miles still has plenty of get up and go .
Never any major issues w/ this.
Highly recommended

Pros
I have nothing but good things to say about my Highlander
Never had any major issues with it. and I have over 220k miles on it

Cons
Would like to see a bit more leg room in the back seat
or rear seat heaters but that's about it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
Karen D.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/20/2018
GREAT SUV
GREAT SUV, Rides nice, drives very good in bad weather. I Would definitely buy another. I bought it used, one owner, low miles, my only complaint is, I wish it had a sun/moon roof! I recommend this car to any one that wants an SUV or just a good car.

Pros
GREAT SUV

Cons
No MOON ROOF

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
TOM S.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/03/2019
Love this car!!!
Bought it because we wanted to encourage the development of hybrids (this is a first generation). We did have a couple of issues early on, but at a month shy of 14 years (we bought this car in August 2005) we are still loving the car. Just enough space without being a tank on the road ... heading out on a road trip this week and looking forward to our ride!

Pros
When new, GREAT mileage for the vehicle size / type; flexibility for 7 passengers when necessary (though not for long trips)

Cons
Wide turning radius, had some issues with electrical system early-on

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DT
David T.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/26/2017
Not what I expect from a Toyota
Ive owned 2 Camrys which are great cars and still own 1. It has 220,000 miles and has never had a problem with it. The Highlander has 100,000 miles and has had sensor issues, we needed to replace the alternator and needs a catalitic converter. Really disappointed. I wouldnt buy another but i would definitely buy another Camry.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MIRIAM M.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/09/2017
Overall a fine vehicle
We've had our 2006 for 6 years now. I really shouldn't have been chosen to write a review as we purchased our Highlander with a salvage title. The people who "fixed" the car before our purchase were crooks. They bypassed every safety precausion and every detail in order to save money. According to our mechanic, we could have blown up inside our SUV after the gas line wasn't tightened, and the safety switch or connection wasn't either and it came unhooked... non of the doors shut correctly and the power windows don't work well or at all. No seals are tight and the tires wear off like butter. Not as spacious as a minivan of course either. Haha. That was our mistake of buying it but it had low miles and was priced well compared to all the non salvaged Highlander's out there. Besides all the body (less than) imperfections, the motor has been running great. Never any real issues. It was stolen this summer and we both were hoping it wouldn't be recovered which it did. So now we have this very poor functioning car back. The interesting thing is that despite all the physical problems we have with this car, I still love it (my husband hates it). So here is a average 3 star rating for you.

Pros
Very sturdy. 7 seat option make this car great for emergency situations but it's not meant for full time full capacity usage especially not once the kids have grown to be as tall as me. All wheel drive is a fine feature to have. Has all power everything. Great for towing trailer as well.

Cons
No room once the 3rd row is in use. Best for smaller passengers especially back row. Not much leg room.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 34 of 34 in total