2006
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5Overall Rating 4.68/5rating 4.68
4.7
(34 Reviews)
Latest review over 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


DC
DEBORAH C.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/04/2017
Good vehicle
It's almost 11 yrs. old and all I have had to do is purchase a battery, new tires, oil changes, a alternator, and brakes. No major expense. Would buy another Toyota.

Pros
Not enough value when selling compared to price pd. Low maintenance. Great car and very good ride for a SUV

Cons
Too expensive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DN
DONALD N.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/18/2017
Highlander
We love our car, good mileage. Good condition.

Pros
We just plan love it

Cons
There is nothing we don't like about it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
ALAN G.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/10/2017
2006 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
I'm very fond of Toyotas, having had them since 1991 (two Previas and this one. The first was still running strong after more than 300,000 miles).
The Hybrid gives me about 28 mpg on the highway, and has been very reliable, with no major powertrain problems, and one right front axle replacement.

Pros
Very steady and sensitive steering
Smooth acceleration through the range, very responsive

Cons
Rear visibility
Rear wiper blade does not pull out fully for cleaning
Maintenance warning light too bright, comes on too early

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
KRISTA B.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/18/2017
The most reliable car I've ever had
I absolutely love my highlander. I bought it new in 2006, it is now 2017 and she is still going strong. I've kept up on the normal maintenance and have had very few problems. The car ate the first set of tires, but they were cheap Toyo tires, the last set were Michelins and they lasted 90,000 miles. I highly recommend this vehicle.

Pros
I've made some improvements to the car - it was a base model and I have installed an aftermarket double din touchscreen radio, new speakers, new wheels, and a remote start/security system.

Cons
4 cylinder is slow to get moving compared to other cars on the road - racing is not something to do in this car!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Kevin M.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/22/2017
12 years still running
Never needed anything but basic maintenance

Pros
Reliable

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
WESLEY W.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/03/2017
Comfortable ride
The car runs great. No major problems or breakdowns. Great vehicle and it is very comfortable and lots of room for long road trips.When we need to replace this car, we will probably get another Toyota.

Pros
Dependable, comfortable, affordable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Retha H.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/29/2017
Will Buy Another one in about 100K miles
Such a wonderful vehicle. It was my first SUV, but not first car. Almost at 200K miles and will push it to 300K. Unless my lifestyle changes dramatically, I will get another Highlander.

Pros
Reliable and the hybrid is great on gas mileage.

Cons
My model has the spark plugs in a weird place so a lot had to be removed to get to the spark plugs so they can be changed. This design flaw was changed in the next model, but it cost me a pretty penny when it was time to change the sparks

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
GERALD M.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/15/2017
Dependable vehicle with a great reputation for great maintenance and reliability. I feel safe driving it.
I bought the Highlander as a used vehicle and have learned to trust its reliability and driving ease. Would recommend it to everyone who wanted a very reliable, good maintenance and safe driving SUV.

Pros
easy maintenance, easy to drive, very reliable

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
Gina W.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/01/2018
Love my Highlander!
Best purchase ever. Love my Highlander Purchased it new and it was the best decision ever. It’s comfortable and fun to drive. Plenty of storage. It’s our vehicle of choice when we go on road trips. I would definitely recommend the Highlander to everyone.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KO
Kevin O.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/11/2018
2006 Highlander Limited
I have a 2006 Highlander Limited purchased March, 2018. It had a clean carfax and only 65k on the odometer. I love the size of the vehicle (first generation), it's four-wheel drive grip on the road. It's a vehicle that Toyota just got right in so many ways. The later generations are bigger and beyond what I feel comfortable with. Find the right first generation Highlander and you'll be happy with it.

Pros
Nearly perfect overall package. A first generation Highlander, well maintained, holds its value much better than nearly every other vehicle out there.

Cons
Transmission sometimes has a little tug at first acceleration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VS
VALERIE S.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/23/2018
Toyota Highlander
Purchased vehicle brand new, minimal problems, still has many original parts that are just now starting to need to be replaced. Maintenance on vehicle kept up, runs as good today as when it was brand new. Would purchase another one.

Pros
Has many of the features that I wanted in a vehicle

Cons
Does not have an media outlet built into console, this feature was introduced in later models

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
DONNA D.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/16/2019
Highlander
Having owned 6 Mercedes, I would rate this vehicle equal to and beyond the best as it has exceeded my expectations. I'd never hesitate considering another Highlander or recommending to a friend. Keep up the excellence Toyota.

Pros
Preforms today as the day I drove it out of the showroom.

Cons
Don't have any......

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
HANNS H.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/02/2019
Great car
Best car I ever owned. 140000+ miles and not a single issue in 14 years! The battery of the hybrid system is loosing a bit of its stfegh and lasts a bit shorts. It used to last the full length of the West Side Highway in Manhatten.

Pros
See above

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MICHAEL G.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2019
Reliable Toyota
The Highlander is a great vehicle if you're looking for more than a sedan but not a minivan. It still has plenty of space for luggage and hauling stuff while retaining a nice interior for around town driving and longer trips.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 34 of 34 in total