2006
Toyota
Highlander

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(42 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 month ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MS
MIKE S.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/03/2020
Love
My first Toyota it won’t be my last. We love the hybrid model I put after market wheels because the wheels didn’t fit the look of the car. The milage is great for an SUV this size. Love the room. But 3rd seat is a joke unless you have small children.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KL
Kate L.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/29/2020
2006 Highlander Hybrid.
This has been my favorite car of all time. I bought it the first year that Toyota had this model as a hybrid, and I have been absolutely pleased. This car has survived two teenaged boys, with all that this fact entails, and has kept on going. An absolute jewel.

Pros
Many positives, but if I had to cite it’s most outstanding feature, that would be reliability. Not a gas guzzler, and a great car both on the road and in town.

Cons
The heat and air vents work only from the dashboard. The rear seats have difficulty getting good climate control.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
PATTY S.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/13/2020
2006 Toyota Highlander is the greatest!
Great dependable reliable highlander! Will keep this ole girl going forever! 😬 Toyota’s reputation stands by itself but I for sure would buy another one! Have owned 3 other Toyota’s but the Highlanders & Avalon’s are my favorites!

Pros
Drives like its a newer vehicle! No need for buying newer model! Doesn’t drive like a truck, easy handling! Easy to park - no blind spots!

Cons
Nothing bad to say except it’s so old I can’t play my iPod in it - no USB plug! ☺️ But that’s ok

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TV
Thomas V.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/05/2020
Best Medium Sized SUV..
Ever since we bought our new 2006 Highlander, the mutual relationship is 'Love'. For short or long trips, the ride is super luxury and we enjoy every second of it. So far it has lived up to the legendary Toyota reliability truth. In these 14 years of ownership, we had only minor issues with it. Still it runs like a charm.We have had many pleasurable long trips. Last year we went to New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey for our cousin's first communion and to visit some friends from our home town, Tampa Florida. That was an amazing pleasure trip. Highlanders are the best made medium sized SUVs. Buy it with confidence.

Pros
Super ride, reliable, good gas mileage..

Cons
None.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BC
BARBARA C.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/19/2020
2006 Toyota Highlander, White, Sun Roof (between 85&95 thousand miles) fold down 3rd seat.
This car was purchased new by me. It has given me excellent service all these years, and has not caused me a great deal of money to keep it running. I have my maintenance checks,brakes replaced once, or twice, new tires twice,and car is still in great shape after almost 14 years.

Pros
I like everything about the car for it's year.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
DONNA D.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/06/2020
2006 Highlander Limited
I'm 75 and over the years have driven 6 different style Mercedes, without question I would rate this Highlander as good as if not better than a Benz. You know I'll be returning to Toyota in the not to distant future.

Pros
Virtually maintenance free.

Cons
Had to replace the headlights. Come on guys, get real.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EA
ESMIE A.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/10/2019
Highlander
I’ve had nothing but good experience with my highlander. I bought it brand new and haven’t had any problems with it. I will recommend this vehicle to everyone that I know. It’s very reliable and is worth owning.

Pros
Great vehicle

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
MIKE S.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/18/2019
Best car so far
Bought it used first hybrid. It was hard to figure out at first. The car it self is just great. Little or no problems if maintained properly! As a hybrid on this car even the Dealer didn’t know much about how it really worked.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
TOM S.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/03/2019
Love this car!!!
Bought it because we wanted to encourage the development of hybrids (this is a first generation). We did have a couple of issues early on, but at a month shy of 14 years (we bought this car in August 2005) we are still loving the car. Just enough space without being a tank on the road ... heading out on a road trip this week and looking forward to our ride!

Pros
When new, GREAT mileage for the vehicle size / type; flexibility for 7 passengers when necessary (though not for long trips)

Cons
Wide turning radius, had some issues with electrical system early-on

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
MICHAEL G.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/18/2019
Reliable Toyota
The Highlander is a great vehicle if you're looking for more than a sedan but not a minivan. It still has plenty of space for luggage and hauling stuff while retaining a nice interior for around town driving and longer trips.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HH
HANNS H.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/02/2019
Great car
Best car I ever owned. 140000+ miles and not a single issue in 14 years! The battery of the hybrid system is loosing a bit of its stfegh and lasts a bit shorts. It used to last the full length of the West Side Highway in Manhatten.

Pros
See above

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
DONNA D.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/16/2019
Highlander
Having owned 6 Mercedes, I would rate this vehicle equal to and beyond the best as it has exceeded my expectations. I'd never hesitate considering another Highlander or recommending to a friend. Keep up the excellence Toyota.

Pros
Preforms today as the day I drove it out of the showroom.

Cons
Don't have any......

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VS
VALERIE S.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/23/2018
Toyota Highlander
Purchased vehicle brand new, minimal problems, still has many original parts that are just now starting to need to be replaced. Maintenance on vehicle kept up, runs as good today as when it was brand new. Would purchase another one.

Pros
Has many of the features that I wanted in a vehicle

Cons
Does not have an media outlet built into console, this feature was introduced in later models

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KO
Kevin O.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/11/2018
2006 Highlander Limited
I have a 2006 Highlander Limited purchased March, 2018. It had a clean carfax and only 65k on the odometer. I love the size of the vehicle (first generation), it's four-wheel drive grip on the road. It's a vehicle that Toyota just got right in so many ways. The later generations are bigger and beyond what I feel comfortable with. Find the right first generation Highlander and you'll be happy with it.

Pros
Nearly perfect overall package. A first generation Highlander, well maintained, holds its value much better than nearly every other vehicle out there.

Cons
Transmission sometimes has a little tug at first acceleration

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KD
Karen D.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/20/2018
GREAT SUV
GREAT SUV, Rides nice, drives very good in bad weather. I Would definitely buy another. I bought it used, one owner, low miles, my only complaint is, I wish it had a sun/moon roof! I recommend this car to any one that wants an SUV or just a good car.

Pros
GREAT SUV

Cons
No MOON ROOF

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DARIN G.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/16/2018
Great Car
We bought this car right off the lot in 05
and we continue to drive the heck out of it all over the place. Up and down the coast numerous times as well as up to WA . This little
car has given us nothing but smooth rides everywhere. I would buy this car again if need. This Highlander even after 220k miles still has plenty of get up and go .
Never any major issues w/ this.
Highly recommended

Pros
I have nothing but good things to say about my Highlander
Never had any major issues with it. and I have over 220k miles on it

Cons
Would like to see a bit more leg room in the back seat
or rear seat heaters but that's about it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GW
Gina W.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/01/2018
Love my Highlander!
Best purchase ever. Love my Highlander Purchased it new and it was the best decision ever. It’s comfortable and fun to drive. Plenty of storage. It’s our vehicle of choice when we go on road trips. I would definitely recommend the Highlander to everyone.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DARIN G.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/15/2017
Nice
We bought this fresh off the lot.
Brand new. And drive the hell out of it.
Over 214k and still going on strong

Pros
I get low on fuel often
And I have never had an issue getting to the gas station.
Very dependable

Cons
N/a

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GM
GERALD M.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/15/2017
Dependable vehicle with a great reputation for great maintenance and reliability. I feel safe driving it.
I bought the Highlander as a used vehicle and have learned to trust its reliability and driving ease. Would recommend it to everyone who wanted a very reliable, good maintenance and safe driving SUV.

Pros
easy maintenance, easy to drive, very reliable

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RH
Retha H.
2006 Toyota Highlander
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/29/2017
Will Buy Another one in about 100K miles
Such a wonderful vehicle. It was my first SUV, but not first car. Almost at 200K miles and will push it to 300K. Unless my lifestyle changes dramatically, I will get another Highlander.

Pros
Reliable and the hybrid is great on gas mileage.

Cons
My model has the spark plugs in a weird place so a lot had to be removed to get to the spark plugs so they can be changed. This design flaw was changed in the next model, but it cost me a pretty penny when it was time to change the sparks

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 42 in total