Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RT
Regina T.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/17/2019
Size
Okay I’m not excited about this vehicle. I’m thinking that maybe this is my fault for buying it because I said at the time it would work fine if we could get the electric scooter loaded in the trunk! Well it did fit but it was the young salesman that loaded it up! Since we are both retired and not young sprouts it’s much harder for us to load.

Pros
Small

Cons
Too small for comfort when riding with five people.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WC
WILFREDO C.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/10/2019
Exceeded my expectation
Drove this accent to Texas and back from California. It's surprisingly comfortable to drive. It lacks in power when climbing uphill but what do you expect from a car of this price range? I believe it's one of the best in it's class. I've owned this car for three years without experiencing any problem and hopefully it stays that way. The car has more than 50k miles on it.

Pros
Very cheap price wise.

Cons
odometer button is not quickly accessible. Kept forgetting where it's located.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Mary R.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/06/2019
Accent 2016
Use to small hatchback, this 4 door sedan has turned out to be a good car, response is good comfortable, gas is good, I especially like the back seat folds down. Trunk is large. Seats comfortable. Dash is easy to use

Pros
Comfortable, easy to drive

Cons
A little big, plastic bumper

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RN
RACHEL N.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2019
Satisfied return customer
This is the second Hyundai Accent I have purchased new and am very happy with my decision to stay with this make and model. I was pleasantly surprised to find this one roomier than the last one. Still a bit of a squeeze getting three young ones in the backseat but I bought it for all around versatility and value. Seriously - best value for your money and has never let me down - even with -30F actual temperatures.

Pros
Great gas mileage and maneuverability in tight spaces.

Cons
It’s a smaller engine so sometimes can be a bit difficult getting up to speed on the highway or interstate. More cupholders and storage spaces would be nice.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VC
Veronica C.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/04/2019
Reliable
I love My Hyundai Accent. It’s a very Reliable vehicle. The inside is nice and comfortable. Easy and affordable maintenance. The white color looks great every day. Good mileage per gallon. It runs perfectly with the less expensive gasoline.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
MARK ERIC F.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/28/2019
?
NONE AT THIS TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TS
Thomas S.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/24/2019
Tom
I get over 40 miles per gallon on long drives. The mpg is less in the mountains. On the flat gulf coastal plains (Houston to New Orleans), I get about 46 mpg. I DON'T DRIVE 55. I am paying 2.39 a gallon now. But if a few tankers get sunk in the Persian Gulf tomorrow, gasoline might be 5 dollars a gallon.
My car has saved me a lot of money on gasoline. By the way, it is NOT a hybrid.

Pros
It is an in expensive car. I bought it for 14500. It was advertised for that price. I got approved for financing. When I set down with the finance manager, the price had jumped to 18500. I got up and walked out. I later went in and signed for 14500. I still feel that I found a great price. This was in Spring Texas.

Cons
It is a plain Jane. It does not get up and go like a mustang. But hey! You get what you pay for.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
Mathew A.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/24/2019
2016 Hyundai Accent long term review
I don't make a whole lot of money, I needed a vehicle which was inexpensive and dependable. That's exactly what I got with my 2016 Hyundai Accent. I bought it new in April 2016, 3 years later I now have 43,000 miles on it, with no problems to speak of whatsoever. The car gets great gas mileage overall in suburban and highway driving, well into the 40s and 50s, but in the city it could be better. Granted, the ActiveECO mode helps that problem, but you will need to tap the accelerator lightly and learn how the computer alters engine takeoff power to get a smooth start from zero. I would only use that feature in heavy stop-and-go city traffic, never while entering the Interstate.

That said however, I'm so glad Hyundai chose to use a regular tried-and-true 6-speed automatic transmission instead of a CVT as many other carmakers have done. While a CVT could produce better gas mileage it has shown to not last as long as a regular automatic, which we've been using in cars for decades. Reliability and durability is the number one reason a person buys a brand new car, and you generally cannot go wrong with using an older, proven technology to serve that purpose.

The only complaint I've ever had about this car was that a spare tire was not included, and the dealer did not tell me this when I bought the car, I had to find out the hard way a year later when one of my tires was damaged in a construction zone on the road.

As I covered before, driving in normal mode the car has decent acceleration, once you're up to speed the car delivers great fuel economy. It's not the most powerful car on the road, but horsepower is not the reason one buys a car in this class. (Who expects Italian supercar performance out of a $15,000 compact city car?)

I also really like the seat materials in this Accent. They are comfortable yet very easy to clean. The interior panels and center console are made of plastic so occasionally you will hear some rattling, but again, that's generally to be expected in this class.

If I could ask an improvement anywhere, it would be in regards to how the car handles on the highway. Yes, I know it's a small car so it will wobble a little more in the wind and wake turbulence than a large car would, but those of us who are fans of small cars would greatly appreciate suspension revisions or any other improvements that could deliver a smoother ride.

In closing, I'm very happy with this car and would absolutely buy it again. Thus far, Hyundai has proven themselves in terms of what I need in my car.

Pros
Great fuel economy
Very reliable
Inexpensive to buy and maintain

Cons
Spare tire not included
Handling could be improved

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Linda C.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/21/2019
Hyundai Accent
I really love my Accent. It has great gas millage and rides beautifully. I love the hatch back style and I am able to put large items in with no trouble. This car is fits my needs and I am so happy that I purchased it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TK
Thomas K.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/13/2019
Best car I've ever owned
Comfortable, quiet, well equipped... I'm averaging 40 mpg over the three years I've owned the car. The only improvement I'd like to see is a perfectly FLAT folding rear seatback. I'm 6'1" and I have plenty of head and leg room. I also have plenty of shoulder room as well.

Pros
See above

Cons
See above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Manuel D.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/23/2019
BEST CAR EVER.
OVERALL THIS CAR IS FUN TO DRIVE, GOOD ON GAS CHEAP ON INSURANCE WHAT ELSE CAN I SAY. LOVE IT
NOW THIS CAR IS GOING TO MY DAUGHTER AND I CAN'T WAIT TO MY NEXT HYUNDAI ACCENT. THE RELIABILITY ON THIS CAR IS AWESOME IN 4 YEARS NEVER HAVE LET ME DOWN.

Pros
GOOD ON GAS

Cons
NONE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CV
CAROLINA V.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/26/2019
Hyundai Accent
My Mitsubishi was on its last legs, so I started looking at used cars. I went to the dealership to look at a used Hyundai Elantra but after talking to the sales person, decided I would be better off buying a new car. I test drove the Accent and bought it. I never looked at any other cars. I absolutely love my Hyundai Accent and always recommend it highly. I take it in for maintenance service to the dealership I bought it from. I get great service, the staff is very friendly, yet professional.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Mark H.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/14/2019
Value
This would be a five star review if the factory tires and brakes lasted longer. Since the next model up has a tiny bit more room, is about the same price, gets the same mileage and has better tires and brakes, it is an even better value.

All that said, this car is more quiet and comfortable than many larger cars costing more and wasting more fuel. I reiterate that it is noticeably quiet even at highway soeeds. It accelerates to and maintains highway speeds without a lot of shifting or high reving.

In 30,000 miles we have had no issues related to the quality of the car (I broke the rear wiper with my bike rack). I would prefer taller, 78's instead of 70 series tires, for comfort. Still, the 70's aren't as bad as most. Let's face it, this car was never meant for autocross. I don't intend to take off ramps at 75. 78's would handle better in snow and be cheaper to replace.
At different times, II have carried a bike, wheelchair, walker and two weeks of groceries in the back, with a rear seat passenger. Plenty of room.

A few friends have mentioned the headlights aren't very bright. I think they are right, but wonder if this is only because we have gotten used to lights too bright. We have never had trouble driving at night.

I do not wash and wax as often as I should, but the paint looks like new. The wheels aren't stained from brake dust. The trim is all still properly in place. This will be a tough car to turn in at the end of our lease

Pros
Value, comfort, quiet

Cons
Factory tires and brakes

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MD
Michele D.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/08/2019
Too small
This vehicle is too small, I can’t wait to buy another vehicle to get into something a little bigger. Plus it had no cruise control, which I miss because I do a lot of long distance driving. My mistake for not realizing this when I bought It.

Pros
Inexpensive

Cons
Too small

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JJ
Jongmin J.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/06/2019
It is ok
It is my 4th year with accent 2016 se model. No major issues happened so far. As time goes, it started making noises and lowering it efficiency and performance.
However, it is worthy to have as a second car with its affordable price.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Linda C.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/04/2019
Hyundai Accent
I am very happy with my Accent. It handles well and the gas mileage is great. The hatch back provides alot of room to carry things and is easy to load. I am really so glad that I purchased this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WC
WILLIAM C.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/01/2019
Nice little car
The gas mileage isn't as good as I hoped it would be when I bought it. The automatic transmission is a bit sluggish during initial acceleration from a dead stop. The wheel covers rattle going over bumpy surface. Other than those things, which are not deal breakers, I like the little car very much.

Pros
It's a fine little car. I am satisfied with it so far.

Cons
Gas mileage could be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
RAUL C.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/25/2019
Great first car
Great car if it's the first new car purchased. It's now a power house but it would be great for new drivers and college students. It never failed me on extreme weather and drives really well. In the future I will buy one for my daughter to use in college.

Pros
Small and can fit in most parking spots

Cons
Low on horse power

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Linda C.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/20/2019
Hyundai Accent
My am very happy with my car. It has great gas millage and drives very well in the weather. Snow is no problem and it handles very well on slippery and wet roads. I like the size of the car and I can handle it with no trouble. The hatch back and the fold down seats in the back make it able to take even large size objects when I need to pack up by car. I really love this car and am so happy with it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VP
Vanessa P.
2016 Hyundai Accent
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/19/2019
2016 HYUNDAI ACCENT
MY ACCENT IS VERY EASY ON GAS AND VERY DEPENDABLE AND EASY TO DRIVE IT IS A GOOD CAR FOR THE MONEY I WISH THE ACCENT WOULD COME WITH BACK UP CAMERA AND LEATHER HEATED SEATS AS A STANDARD IN ALL MODELS AND MAYBE A LITTLE BIGGER SIZE TIRE

Pros
I LIKE PRETTY MUCH EVERYTHING ABOUT IT

Cons
WISH THAT THE MODEL I PURCHASED HAD THE BACK UP CAMERA AND LEATHER SEATS AS A STANDARD FEATURE

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 630 in total